Colourful Hot Air Balloon Watercolour Painting

Thumbnail.jpg

Hello everyone! Today i am going to share a painting that I did yesterday. It is that of a colourful hot air balloon. There is a girl in it and she is enjoying the view from on the top of the sky. I did this as a fun painting as the large hot air balloon gives me the versatility of using multiple colours as much as I like.

Tools and Materials

  • watercolour paint
  • HB pencil to draw
  • a dust free eraser
  • a tissue to absorb excess water or paint
  • a palette to mix paint
  • a container of water
  • a small round brush
  • an absorbent art paper

The Process


IMG_20230131_195742.jpg

This is a simple outline drawing I made with my pencil. I just used did this free hand.

IMG_20230201_113055.jpg

So as usual, I made some changes and changed some details in order to fit my liking. I even changed the proportion of the balloon so it appears right to me. I think it is good to take our time when we are making an outline so we don't have to struggle trying to make the changes once we start painting. This saves a lot of time and makes the experience more enjoyable.

IMG_20230201_141605.jpg

Unlike how I do it usually where I start painting with the lightest colour, this time I started out with the background colour which is blue in this case. I did this because the background will take a large chunk of the painting and might dominate it so I painted this first so I can evaluate how much blue I want in my balloon later on. This also helps me to make the necessary adjustments so I don't go overboard with the blue shade.

IMG_20230201_143311.jpg

Check out my cool background. This colour gives me such a calm vibe. I used to love this shade when I was younger and called it 'icy blue' but I got over it later on as it is similar to our secondary school uniform shade and I got a little bored of it.

IMG_20230201_143838.jpg

I painted some diluted red to see how it looks in contrast to the blue. This is the brush I use by the way. It is a little short than a regular brush but it is convenient for my small hands and comfortable to use as well.

IMG_20230201_143915.jpg

Here' s a closer look of it. By the way, I added some dark blue to the edges as well. I had to mix the colour on the palette first so it blends well.

IMG_20230201_152900.jpg

At this point, I have painted almost all the colours I got on the hot air balloon. Now it got much better and balanced out the blue background as there are plenty of warm shades that I have used.

IMG_20230201_153013.jpg

This picture is for aesthetic purposes. I might post this on my social media later on. I consciously arranged the paint containers in the rainbow way where neighbouring colours stay together.

IMG_20230201_165850.jpg

Can you spot the difference between this picture and the previous one? I have actually replaced one of the colours on the hot air balloon with a completely different shade. It is the one on the right. The green felt out of place so I used the lifting technique to remove it and painted pink on top of it. Now the colours harmonious.

IMG_20230201_174522.jpg

Then. I painted some flat looking colours on the rest of the balloon and the girl as well.

IMG_20230201_185742.jpg

I used the lifting technique to create some highlights on the bottom section of the balloon. The paper looks shiny because I used a ton of water on the blue skies to create some effects. I wanted the central area to be lighter so it creates some depth and space.

IMG_20230201_192934.jpg

Here my painting has dried and I was done with it. This artwork looks quite simple but it was so fun to make because I got to use almost all of the colours I got.


c4cd993c3818f09ae8cf8978301ddbf21f3fca0394613baf66e1afc9e6137501.0.png

Thank you for dropping by and I wish you a great day ahead :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center