Bashful Mimosa 2022-2023

mimosa2324final.png

Hello everyone! I'm back with my art blog. I'll be sharing my art processes on my sketchtember entries here. I wanted to upload this on the last day of September but unfortunately, my laptop died or should I say half dead because I can still turn it on, the indicator lights are showing and I can still hear the fan spinning inside but there's no display, total black screen. I was really nervous at that time, not for the files but for my keys, I only had them saved on my laptop. I went to a nearby computer technician for repair, he tried various things until he concluded the problem was the CPU overheated, which he said at first would be impossible to fix even if I changed the motherboard. But he also said he would attempt a BIOS flashing/program as a last resort which would take him a few days so I had to leave the laptop there. Finally yesterday, I received a text message from him that my laptop had been fixed❤

Going back to my drawing, this is my entry for Artpark's sketchtember week 1 prompt: Redraw a drawing from last year. However, I was only able to start drawing this in the 3rd week XD.

ART PROCESS

I started off with a rough sketch and used the Loomis method to draw the head into that pose while also following Sam Yang's exaggerations of the features of the face. And used the G-Pen for the lineart, I made sure to darken the areas where the lines intersect for the illusion of depth.

Before deciding to paint this in greyscale I had two attempts in colors but all turned out bad. I don't know why but at that time I was so uncomfortable with color like it felt so complicated. I think I was experiencing a color block that time lol😆. So I decided to paint in greyscale in which I would only be concerned with the values. So I painted the background first and then the base color of Mimosa.

I then applied different values to different parts such as the hair, skin, and clothes that the light hit, the part of the clothes the light didn't hit, and some of the shadows, I used the watercolor brush here.

I started rendering the details here and there starting from the biggest ones to the smallest. In the midst of my process, I felt there really was something wrong with her face, and later on, I found out I forgot to draw her eyebrows XD.

After adding some more details, highlights and her figure's shadow on the wall here is the FINAL RESULT
11.png
Since it's been a year, she had grown now and so her face became more mature. From a Bashful Mimosa she now more look like a Tsundere Mimosa. XD

THANK YOU


💾Software: Medibang Paint Pro


Ozaki

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now