Seasonal Depression, anxiety and an inability to complete creative projects.

Fun title right? Haha Its my reasoning for being so quiet these past couple of weeks. I'm sorry about that! I was hoping to use this platform to document some of my projects of which there is many... Which happens to be the problem. I have so many ongoing projects but I've become seemingly unable to finish any of them.

My studio currently is home to a wizard frog with no hands, I cannot confirm nor deny that I left the hands while last because as any artist knows; hands are the devil.

20220202_112123.jpg

A half naked business badger. Who needs pants in the office anyway?

20220128_123836.jpg

Dapper Tiger on an invisible chair anyone? How do I even shade a chair? What colour do I make the chair? I had planned on green but it didn't look right.

image0_14_01.jpeg

Beyond that there's also an half built cardboard tree stump, a broken sculpture that needs repairing and multiple unfinished illustrations and things I want to list on etsy!

20220123_133343_01.jpeg

And I have so many more projects that I want to do!

How do I fix this?

I really don't know.

Last year I developed this really weird habit of loving my artwork until the point of finishing. This made it especially difficult to stay motivated on longer projects (such as sculptures) because so much time gets invested in the process only for me to end up hating them and feeling like I've wasted my time.

I've been trying to work on this and did seem to get somewhere before Seasonal Affective Disorder hit me like a truck this winter! And I seem to have fallen back into the bad habit of being too scared to finish a project.

I've been thinking about my targets for the next week and I feel like there's so many it's really overwhelming.

So I'm going to write 5 goals here in the hopes that it helps me feel a little less overwhelmed and more motivated! My tutor in college once told me that I preform better when I have someone to answer to so you are going to be the people I have to answer to. 😂

My list:

  1. Finish my Wizard Frog - he needs some dang hands!
  2. Finish the frame work for my tree stump
  3. Complete an illustration commission
  4. Make a tiktok
  5. Finish the dapper Tiger illustration

And a bonus would be to make another post here!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center