Playing Horse: Constructing a Horse Base Mesh

horse - base mesh.png

I wanted to make horse characters in the future but don’t want to always starting from scratch.

In this article, I will show you how I constructed my base mesh.

It will be a low detail (low poly) as it will serve as my starting mesh for future horse models.

For the sake of demonstration, I will give it a simple tail, mane, shading and environment.


Construction Method

I started with references – a lot of it. I also viewed some tutorials on how other people made their horses.

For basic process, I followed this method.

I will be using 2 images directly on the editor.
I will be blocking the other reference image as I am not sure if I am allowed to show it here. It’s basically a front view of a certain horse.

Aside from that, I will be using more reference on a different window. I will be using this references when making the eyes, nose, mouth, tail and the hoof.

With that out of the way, let’s get it on. 🙂


I started with a cube positioned around the neck of my reference.
I then extrude and positioned it to match my reference body.
I have to keep in mind to make it low poly as I am making a base mesh.

1.png

Reference image downloaded from SeekPNG.

After that, I grabbed and moved vertices to make my box model like a horse body.
I added extra detail as I deem necessary, especially around the legs.

2.png

I then polished the shape of the body with sculpting. Next, I completed the legs.

3.png

I then moved on the ears next. Again, I am making it low poly as possible – no additional details.

4.png

I added more details around the eye area, cut out a hole for the eye socket. I then added a sphere for its eyeballs.

5.png

With my reference image, I shaped the bridge of the nose of the horse first. And then proceeded with its nose.

6.png

I moved on next making the mouth and a short tail.

7.png

Checking on my reference images, I went back to the hoof and made some adjustments.

8.png

That’s it, I’m actually done with my base mesh.


However, it feels unfinished, it really is, if I will end here.
So, I added some simple tail and mane.
Also, I colored it, made a ground, lighting and did some compositing.

9.png

10.png

11.png

Thanks for making this far reading my article.

Hope you liked it.

Thank you and more power.

Follow me if you want to see what I can make with this base mesh. 🙂

3D Model is created and rendered with Blender.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now