Another Elephant Seals Sketches.

IMG_20240719_0005.jpg

Hi everyone! 😊

Remember, in a previous session, I already did the seals exercise, which consists in practising the gesture through simple forms, such as seals have.

It is necessary to perceive the intention of a pose (is it shy, confident, lazy?) and to transpose it with the right curves, taking into account the overall dynamic.

IMG_20240719_0003.jpg

I do less this time, but I spend more time on each one, taking care of my line and volume, and understanding what the animal was feeling at the moment, so that I can draw it better.

In fact, I probably spend as much time observing the animal as I do drawing it, putting myself in its place and doing a kind of acting, so that the pencil naturally follows the intention you've planned and felt in your head.

I also pay attention to an important thing that I learnt early on, which is the quality of the line; lines don't really exist in nature, they're just the outline of volumes.
So the lines must not betray these volumes but be consistent with them. A hard body will have very sustained lines, while a draped body may have more discontinuous, moving lines.
Placing the right line solidity will directly give consistency to the drawing, in relation to the subject represented.

IMG_20240719_0004.jpg

bannière.png

I hope you will like it.

See you soon for more!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments