DTIYS - DrawThisInYourStyle - Back to Watercolors

Is anyone else's life crazy? My past four weeks certainly have been. Don't get me wrong, good things happened, but apparently, I am in a state of mind where even good things stress me out. Which is not good.

So, what happened you might ask. Well, at the beginning of November the US opened up its borders to a lot of countries, incl. Germany, my home country and where the parent of the company I'm working for is. That meant that board members were suddenly allowed to come here again and visit. And they did. Which meant that I had to travel as well, to our US HO in Chicagoland, in order to meet with some of them. That was week #1.

Week #2 was or should have been only positive because my best friend came to visit from Germany. And it was truly great, however, due to my recent travel and backlog at work, I wasn't able to take any time off, which my friend knew and it was o.k. Yet it wasn't, for me. Trying to juggle work and my friend meant that I wasn't doing a good job for either of them. And that stressed me quite a bit, it still does.

IMG_1786.jpg

My friend left Sunday night and on Monday I took an early morning flight to visit one of our best customers in Toronto, Canada. The first time in about two years i.e. it was long overdue. And because of that upper management from both sides decided to join the meeting, which, of course, made it a little more taxing for the normal folks like me.

That was last week, since then I've been trying to catch up, with this week being Thanksgiving here in the US. I have been looking forward to these few days off like hardly ever before. Today is Friday and there are still two more days to go.

Yesterday, after I was done with cooking, I lurked around PeadD and stumbled across a post by @marylucy, a DTIYS challenge. After not touching my watercolors in a couple of months, I thought this was the perfect opportunity to get back to painting. This here is Mary Lucy's acrylic painting that I painted today in my style, shown above.

!
MaryLucy Art

I love pink hair and miss mine a lot but it doesn't mix well with a corporate job. I was pondering to change the eye color in my painting, but I didn't want to use too many different colors, so I kept them yellow-ish and had the yellow splatters tie the painting together.

I used

  • Watercolor paper, coldpress, 300 g
  • Mechanical pencil, HB
  • Schmincke watercolors
  • Micron pens, 0.1, 0.005, 0.003
  • White Posca pen

Below you will find some process pictures I took along the way. Oh, and I painted this picture all in one go starting around 11 am this morning and finishing at 3 pm. All the while my SL guildmate @solymi entertained me with streaming Splinterlands and viewer games on Twitch. You should check it out not just because he's entertaining but also because you can get crypto just by watching his stream.

Anyhow, that's the latest life sign from me.

Have a great weekend!
Cheers,
Ocean Bee
divider.png





IMG_1786.jpg
divider.png

IMG_1790.jpg

IMG_1789.jpg

IMG_1789-2.jpg

divider.png


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©OceanBee Art|ImagesByCW

divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center