Only your flowers left

Hello friends! Hope you are all well! I'm happy to be able to post here for the first time.

I am not much of a drawer, but colouring, that I LOVE!!! I studied graphic design, specializing in 3D design. Since then I have gotten too busy with work, but miss the creative flow. This made me buy an adult colouring book and by a VERY happy accident, great colouring pencils!


Raffine watercolour pencils

I started out with 12, and when they started to near their end, I came across a great deal on a 36 piece tin set. This made me buy 2, cause stationary is life and then I knew I was stocked for a while 😁


Colouring book I chose from this time

I saw this book one day and it was a nice change from the Christmas edition I had. Some of the images I might not be too fond of, but the reason I bought it was the fact that it is not the normal straight lines or mandalas.

only-your-flowers-left-coloring-page

I felt a close connection to the image when I saw it. I remembered the day I had to go choose flowers for my other half's funeral. Standing in this flower shop thinking, this is the last thing I am ever going to pick out for him. After that, I didn't want to let go. Even when the flowers have long since died, I kept them, cause it's the last thing I "gave" him.


I started off with the colours of the last flowers I actually did get for the funeral, Niobe Protea

I searched for the original image for some inspiration to colour the rest and found the watercolours really work nicely with the image.


Original Source


How mine turned out

Colouring this picture was therapeutic and a way of dealing with my grief at the same time.

Credits

Image sources mentioned above
Photos of the colouring process taken by myself
Snapcial helped me make the photos uploadable to the app. Lol

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now