Painting of a girl

Hello everyone. I did new something today. I decided to switch from my sketchbook pro app to ibis paint and I think this is what I'll be using from now on.

Here's what I painted. I have a lot to say about ibis paint but let me share my steps before doing that.

img_0.9364418727636897.jpg

I started with a sketch

img_0.7180610342269746.jpg

I then uploaded my sketch to ibis and began to trace over. Then I filled in the base colors and with the airbrush tool I began to create volume by adding shadows and highlights. I painted with different hues of red, orange and brown.

img_0.6455361464894268.jpg

img_0.019152035231598703.jpg

And then I added the finishing touches with the flowers.

Another thing before I move on to talking about ibis paint, I'll like to share my transformation of today's painting done in sketchbook pro on ibis paint.

img_0.3692665024866226.jpg
Now to what's different and why I love this app. I was able to enlarge the eyes and liquify it using the tools available. This is something that's missing in sketchbook pro. This means that now I can create variations of looks just by tweaking things and playing a lot. I like how I finally have a good airbrush tool. The airbrush in sketchbook pro does not work the way I've seen artists praise their air brush tools. I've only always gotten very flat paintings with it and so much blurriness. But in ibis, it creates that porcelain look that I'm happy with.

You can also create so many layers in ibis. Unfortunately the size of the canvas is limited. You can't paint on a 5000 x5000 canvas for instance. The option just isn't there. It's also missing the soft glow blend mode that's my favorite in sketchbook pro but I think I'll fins a way out. If I ever feel a painting would need it so badly, I guess I could use it for that and return back to ibis.

One of the biggest advantages of ibis are the brushes! I'm not used to seeing so many custom brushes. I was so dizzy with excitement because there's just so many things you can do to a painting. Just like I added leaves in the painting I did earlier this morning, I was able to add hearts to the painting I've just done and it makes such a difference. It no longer has to be as bland as I'm accustomed to.

One annoying bit is it has this ads hovering on top but they're not that much of a distraction as it doesn't freeze the app or interrupt your painting process at any time. But it's still there you know and that's ehh not too visually appealing.

I'm really looking forward to painting so many cool things on this app. Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center