My Life in Palette: A Ghibli Vibe to my Denim Jacket

Modeling my handpainted denim jacket BECAUSE WHY NOT?! 😊

IMG_20230924_200901.jpg

Hello everyone!

It's been again a heck of a week. I still haven't escaped from the hustle and bustle of life in the office and no matter how long I may think that I've already got the hang of it, it still feels like an endless battle I have to get through every single day.

But of course, I won't let the mundane of my city life and all the stress and pressures that it brings steal all the sanity that's left in me. I knew I needed to pause for a while and paint to refuel that dried-up brush that the stressful workloads have been blurring me with grey emotions and turn them into vibrant colors again.

And so this weekend, was again another chance for a magical escape - the colorful way my art mats create a work-life balance to regain the sanity of my exhausted mind and body.

I am used to painting on either a stretched canvas board or a canvas tote bag, but this time is different. It is with great pleasure that I can share with you how from a plain-looking denim jacket, I elevate the design or somehow add aesthetic to how it looks. Yes, I painted on the denim jacket that my kuya (older brother) gave me.

And with using water-based acrylic paints, here's a glimpse of the colorful process.

🔸Step 1
I first sketched the image using chalk. By the way, as I have mentioned in my previous post, I am a big fan of Ghibli movies so I guess this design speaks loudly for my fascination with their movies, particularly the Spirited Away, that has forever left me in awe.

IMG_20231008_161548.jpg

🔸Step 2
Next, I painted on Chichiro's face, her hair, and her light green stripe t-shirt.
IMG_20231008_164505.jpg

🔸Step 3
And then, I started painting on Haku, the river spirit boy in his dragon form.

IMG_20231008_164540.jpg

🔸Step 4
And then, of course, this painting won't be complete without a touch of my fascination with flowers as well, so I added them as I am always amazed at how they add aesthetic to everything.

I first painted these magenta magnolia flowers on the left side.

IMG_20231008_172537.jpg

IMG_20231008_172833.jpg

🔸Step 5
And next to the magenta flowers, I added these little blue flowers on the right side.

IMG_20231008_174850.jpg

🔸Step 6
And for the final touch, I painted the images on Chichiro and Haku's face which I hope I gave justice Lol.

IMG_20231008_175108.jpg

It's just so amazing how every finished painting gives me a sense of accomplishment. It's like a diary that writes a record of how I was able to calm the wrath of storms in my chest.


IMG_20231008_184053.jpg

And my heart is brimming with blissful delight that seeing this jacket from this... 👉


IMG_20230924_200901.jpg

👈 ...to this.

And it's quite rewarding working on a painting like this where I can wear the art that I made. 🥰

IMG_20231008_172430.jpg

A plain denim jacket (a heartily given present from my kuya), a touch of acrylic paints, and a sprinkle of Ghibli's magic is all that it takes to refuel all the strength that was taken away from me in the recent hard days of work.

And this is my way of showing how art has great relevance to my existence and that despite this chaotic world, we can still make this life colorfully beautiful.

Thank you everyone for giving me a pinch of your time to read my post.

Have a great and colorful weekday ahead everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now