Rise of the Commons


Splinterlands Art Contest Cover.gif
Edited in Canva Pro.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Sources and Materials

Below are the materials I used in this art.


Brutfuner Color Guide.jpgBrushes Color Guide.jpg
Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.



Medium Vellum.png
Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

My medium of choice. Vellum paper/board is good on colored pencils. It is smooth and yet the colors attach to it quite good. I'd like to describe it as a smoothness of a Bond paper while having the color attachment of Oslo paper.



Brutfuner Colored Pencil.pngMaterials.png
Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

  1. Brutfuner Oily Colored Pencils: Brutfuner is a good cheaper alternative to Faber Castell. The colors are a bit limited even if it's 72 pcs but still good enough to have a good range of color combination.
  2. HBW Eraser: A cheap and trusty eraser.
  3. Dong-a Gel Pens: Quite affordable at like $1 each but the quality is super good. Doesn't bleed and lasts a long time.
  4. Pencils: Needed for drafts. You're not required to use this specific ones. Just use what is available.
  5. Pen Brush: One side is brush and the other is pen tip. It is also a generic affordable one at around $5 on Shopee. One disadvantage is that they brush of the pens are inconsistent. Some of them are hard tips and some are soft. Although, it is still good for coloring or highlighting parts.
  6. Gel Pens: I bought this for like $3 on Shopee. Good when using colored lines along with the inking stage. It bleeds but the color is consistent even if you do multiple layers. Good colors for small objects or areas.

The other two photos below came from Splinterlands and was used as reference for the character coloring.


Dumacke Exile.png
Photo from Splinterlands that came from my account.


Tenyii Striker.png
Photo from Splinterlands that came from my account.


You can check this link on another post for a more detailed description on how I use them.



Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif




๐•ด๐–“๐–™๐–—๐–”๐–‰๐–š๐–ˆ๐–™๐–Ž๐–”๐–“

This is a happening most of the time in my games. My opponents uses Tarsa and Tenyii Striker while I use Lorna Shine and Dumacke Exile. So, why not put it in a more visual context?


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif


Step 1 Draft and Ink

I felt this would be more complicated than normal so what I am going to do is combine the usual Steps 1 and 2. I'll do the pencil draft and then ink it until I complete the whole ink stage.

Draft 1 - Foreground
Step 1 Draft 1.jpg Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

Initially, I was thinking of doing it a side by side while they Tenyii Striker and Dumacke Elite are crossing swords just like in the image below:


anime 1.PNG
Photo from Google as a result of Google Search.

However, I thought it was too simple so I changed the perspective a bit and came up with what it is now.

Ink 1 - Foreground
Step 1 Ink 1.jpg Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

When I know that my art will be complicated, I tend to ink it by layers. That is because the more detail I add, the more mistakes I do when doing draft. Background is the hardest for me and I tend to do a lot of erasures when doing the background. So, in order to not affect the foreground, I lay the initial ink before doing the background.



Draft 2 - Midground and Background
Step 1 Draft 2.jpg Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go used as a reference.

Since I added the flame design that I did in my previous work.


reference 1.jpg
Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

I made a ring design here. Imagine them fighting in a circle of flame. That's the basic idea.

However, that felt too simple with just a black background so I got some references online and used this one:


BG reference.PNG
Photo from ArtStation as a result of Google Search..


Ink 2 - Midground
Step 1 Ink 2.jpg Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

The midground is up to the fire. I wanted to add the flowing lava on the background so using black ink on that would be bad.


Ink 3 - Background
Step 1 Ink 3.jpg Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

Lastly, I would ink the background to finalize everything.

This one, while I liked it, took me probably a few hours from the concept to the finished draft and ink.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 2 Ink Colored


Step 2 Ink Colored.jpg
Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

I did not like the last one without the Colored Ink. I am not sure if it shows but I really had a hard time on that one especially on the edges. So, I am bringing it back and I actually liked it.


Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





Step 3 Skin Colored


Step 3 Skin.jpg
Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

I decided to change the skin colors for Dumacke Exile since he has a darker skin. It was very unexpected but I really like it.


Colors Used:

  • 061, 050, 047 for Tenyii Striker
  • 056, 061, 050 for Dumacke Exile


  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Step 4 Hair and Beard - Dumacke Exile


    Step 4 Hair and Beard - Dumacke Exile'.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    Dumacke Exile has a brownish hair. and so I used these colors to try and make it look good.


    Colors Used:

  • 051, 054, 052


  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Step 5 Outfit - Dumacke Exile


    Step 5 Outfit - Dumacke Exile.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    The cape and main outfit has the same green-ish color. The armor is, on the other hand, sort of platinum so I used grays to add shadow to highlight the light part.

    The sword, I did on the bluish side since I don't have the appropriate colors to copy the original one.


    Colors Used:

  • 035, 057, pencil - armor
  • 053, 020 - sword
  • 065, 071 - cape


  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Step 6 Hair - Tenyii Striker


    Step 6 Hair Tenyii Striker.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    The hair, I copied from the previous post that I made. I don't want it to be just pure black so I added strips here and there and added a few grays for the highlight.


    Colors Used:

  • 058, 054, 024


  • Step 6.1  Shield - Dumacke Exile - forgot.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    I also forgot about Dumacke Exile's shield so I took care of it. Shield is a bit of a pain due to little intricacies but I think I made it pretty well.

    Colors Used:

  • 057, Gel Pen Light Green, 055, 068, 062 - shield


  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Step 7 Outfit - Tenyii Striker


    Step 7 Tenyii Striker Armor.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    One thing I learned from the previous art is that blue and red only works if they are in specific shades. Unfortunately, I don't have that shade in my arsenal so I just went with the blue instead. In the original art, the red part seems to be a shine from the flame and not the color of the armor. That's why I used blue as the armor.


    Colors Used:

  • 053, 020, 019, 059, pencil - armor
  • 029, 030 - cape


  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif






    Step 8 Fire and Sword


    Step 8 Fire and Sword.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    The fire colors also came from the other post. The difference is I added a bit of orange in between the yellow and reds. I also added a red colored pencil after the Gel Pen Red. I used this on both the flame effects and the sword. Worked out great.


    Colors Used:

  • 030, 038, 041 - Fire and Blade
  • 056 - handle

  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Step 9 Background Colored


    Step 9 background Colored.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    This one is hard to explain but I got the inspiration from this:


    BG reference.PNG
    Photo by ArtStation that I got from Google as a result of Google search..



    Step 9b Reds on BG.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    After laying the foundation, I added a bit of reds, yellows and orange here and there. I really like this background because it somewhat looked like a watercolor painting, although, I didn't really know how I managed to do that.


    Colors Used:

  • 054, 056, 051, 049 - land
  • 029, 031, 038 - fire

  • Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Step 10 Re-Ink and Final Touches


    Step 10 Re Ink.jpg
    Photo taken using Tecno Spark Go.

    I added a few more reds in the background with the Gel Pen Red and a black highlight for the main characters to make them pop out.

    I also did the eyes for Dumacke Exile in this step. I used Gel Pen Brown and Gel Pen Black for this.

    I don't know why but to me, it looked worse than before the re-ink. The background is good. The main character suddenly rubbed me off the wrong way and I really don't understand why. If you have any opinions, comment down below in order to light up some answers to this.



    Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Author's Note Banner.gif

    While I made hickups here and there, mostly on the latter part, I still like this. The background is really good in my opinion. Unfortunately, I don't think I can keep up this quality for the background every week as it took me like 4 or 5 days to finish this whole stuff.

    Time-wise, I can but it won't do good on my mental.
    timelapse.gif Made using ezgif maker


    Wood Nymph Smug Divider.gif





    Disclaimer Banner.gif

    • This post is an entry for Splinterland's Art Contest.
    • Other sources that I do not own are cited under their respective photos. Photos and drawings without cited sources are mine and made for this post.
    • Animated Banners and Dividers are edited in Canva Pro.
    • Some of the fonts used are from instafonts.io

    If I seem to forget to cite other sources, this would be unintentional. Please leave it on the comments below to be added in the post. Thanks.

    If you're interested in playing the game, support me by registering using my referral link here



    Outro Banner 1.gif
    แ•ผแ—ฉแฏE แ–ดแ‘Œแ‘Ž แ—ชแ–‡แ—ฉแ—ฏIแ‘ŽG!

    H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    9 Comments
    Ecency