The Best Model I've Sculped So Far.

I wanted to share my most recent hobby by showing you some pictures of the most recent model I've sculpted. Something I had wanted to get into for a while but never got around to it until recently. I had come across videos online of people modelling and sculpting and after some serious binges, I threw caution to the wind and bought some tools and clay.

Originally I bought Fimo, after trying it out I found it was far too pliable, so whatever I was working on would constantly lose its shape, so I shopped around a bit, for something slightly less pliable than the Fimo. I found a brand called super Sculpey: firm. I bought a 454-gram block of it. The same size as I bought with the Fimo and the Sculpey was perfect.

A tip I was given by my uncle was to use tinfoil as a base as it's cheap and will help it keep its shape, as well as being able to save myself clay.

img_0.3878590213534366.jpg

After making a basic shape for the head with the tinfoil I got to work layering on some of the clay.

img_0.7013787232568495.jpg

Once that was done I marked out some lines, for the eyes, nose and mouth, as you would when drawing a picture.

img_0.6084405474687083.jpg

After adding the clay on, for the nose, eyes and lips, the face was starting to take shape.

I had no idea at this point what I was going for, it was very much just a free form session. Which at my level is probably the best thing to do, going out from the start to make something, in particular, I would imagine, could be disheartening if it doesn't turn out as you expected.

But, once I saw how the features turned out I got an idea.

img_0.2841565295131798.jpg

img_0.7500455151404918.jpg

Already I could see that it was already looking better than the previous ones.

This is the fourth and most recent of my sculpts, which meant I was able to put everything I learned from the previous ones into it.

img_0.8054185197958221.jpg

As you can see in this picture, I'm slowly building it up, I've added eyelids, cheekbones and a brow already, but, took a picture of the jawline before I blended it into the face.

I wasn't too particular about being symmetrical, one it would be hard to be exactly symmetrical, but also naturally faces aren't. If it was something like a helmet or piece of armour you'd have to be, but as far as I'm concerned when it comes to faces you have a bit more freedom.

img_0.28815235194455274.jpg

img_0.049945168430953764.jpg

The way the face had turned out, I decided to go with a fantasy kind of elven model. I decided as well to try and make certain features sharper and make it seem a little bit less human.

img_0.18438444625214048.jpg

I decided to take a break from the head and create a shoulder and neck for it, considering I was already happy with how it looked I figured I should put some work in and make it a bust.

img_0.20167171295031278.jpg

Using the same method using the tinfoil but, as well as that using some wiring as a framework. Another tip I picked up, is you have to consider them as functioning and to function they need a skeleton. So, the wire acts as that. It's cheap too, I picked up about 5 spools of it, with different thicknesses, as well as some small wire cutters and plyers for bending the wire into shape. I can do it by hand as it isn't that thick, but, since I bought the stuff I wanted to use it, since I don't like wasting money.

img_0.30266581266214876.jpg

For the creases in the jacket, I added some clay which I could then work in, to give a bit of detail later on.

img_0.020996455579731368.jpg

img_0.4421155212466317.jpg

img_0.8001943602965752.jpg

So, there it is. In all its glory, it's not the best I've ever seen, but, it's the best I've made so far and took me about 6 hours to make.

The Reason I Got Into Sculpting
I'm fairly terrible at drawing, but, am good with my hands so was happy I could pick this up quickly. The reason though is that I'm writing a book with aliens in it, which I have mental images of what they look like but, need some kind of physical reference, especially to put into words what they look like. It sounds stupid, but, I think it would help me. So I gave it a go and currently I'm working on a design for one of the aliens from my book, so far so good. Hopefully, I can share it here soon.

I've always liked the idea of blender too, I've used it to design rooms, but, the sculpting confuses me. No matter how many videos I watch on it I can't seem to pick it up, however, doing it physically I think will give me some practical knowledge which could maybe make it easier to get started.

Cost
To be honest, as a hobby there is a really low price to get started. I spent about 60 euros on a set of tools, wire and Fimo. But, then went out and bought a different set of tools, when I bought the Sculpey clay. In total, I would say I paid 100-120. Which is fairly cheap for everything I got, you don't have to spend that much though, I could have cut down on that cost by not buying the first set of tools. But, since I didn't like the feel of them I kind of had to upgrade.

Conclusion
I've enjoyed the work I've done so far and have picked it up fast, I'm sticking with it, as I can only get better the more I do.

Thanks for reading my post and if you have any tips throw them out and hopefully I can incorporate them into my new piece.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center