A slice of watermelon

IMG_1230.jpg


It's Day 6 for the "daily sketches" that I'm supposed to do and today I should draw "a slice of watermelon". I've not been doing daily sketches since things would always come up and would make me busy but also in general I'm just bad at keeping things in schedule. XD

I looked on the internet for some pics of watermelon and I found one here. I was planning on using graphite pencils like the previous days and also make it a rough sketch but I found the watermelon to have an interesting color so I figured I'll just use colored pencils this time.



IMG_1224.jpg

I started with my usual lines and erased them a bit when I'm ready to use the colored pencils so they won't be as visible.



IMG_1225.jpg

The easiest for me to do a transition nicely is so start with the lightest color you can find and slowly use a darker shade. With a nice colored pencil brand, you will be able to do some blending which will help a lot in your drawing.



IMG_1227.jpg



IMG_1228.jpg



IMG_1229.jpg

What's nice about Prismacolor pencils is I can also use the white colored pencil to lighten some areas. You think white is useless huh? XD Though some parts I can't lighten that much anymore and kinda regret putting more colors there so it was harder to make it lighter.



IMG_1230.jpg

For the final highlights I used a white pen.

It's nice to have these daily drawings to not feel like a chore that I have to do anymore and I like looking at the sketch pad being filled with random drawings and not just rot on the counter. :P

This whole drawing reminds me so much of the time someone stole my drawing on Reddit cos I used Prismacolor colored pencils in that too. It was a crazy and funny story and ignore my cringe face with the drawing to further prove and humiliate the plagiarist lol. It just proves the blockchain is a really good way to store data and prove things in the future. :P

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency