Sketchbook 014 - Drawing Practice, 4 Different Styles

Greetings and happy Wednesday!

When trying to improve your drawing skills and find your own art style, it can be useful to try different things and experiment a lot.

These are a few of my mostly recent attempts at doing just that. Which style/subject do you prefer?

Just a face I drew from imagination, sort of reminds my of someone, but I can't figure out who. Drawing hair like this is very enjoyable, even though it cannot be rushed and takes a long time.

The second drawing is another character drawing attempt, with a lot of focus on trying to get better at linework. Still lots of room for improvement here!

Some hatching practice! This was just endlessly fun to draw. Hatching and trying to improve my shading while also relaxing and getting rid of negative emotions. I really like using this style for portraits too now. It might be my favourite.

Not all of them are dark and grumpy looking...sometimes the occasional 'fluff' drawing can be a nice palate cleanser too. I do not love the effect of marker on printing paper though, it bleeds through too easily. Think I will invest in some decent drawing paper soon.

Well, that's it for now! Let me know which style and subject looks the best, or just lurk and hopefully enjoy some random arty stuff. 😂

Till next time!

Credit - All drawings and photos are my own
Banner created using Adobe Express

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now