Sunny Pasture in Digital and Acrylic

Hi, everybody!

Welcome back to emanate artworx. I hope your weekend is going well. This time, I want to share a landscape I painted, featuring a sunny pasture with yellow wildflowers and a cute little building. I used my beloved IbisPaint to create this. The reference picture was taken in 2022, near where I live.

Rural landscapes are always a captivating subject to me. I think it's because they make me imagine a world that's all in balance and order, where nature still rules, despite human interaction. Some people may find it boring or isolating, but I love the countryside 😍.

The digital sketch took about 2 hours altogether. I like to take my time. Starting with the sky and grass colors, I used a soft pastel brush to make everything in the scene, except the barbed wire in the foreground, which gave the mid and background an unfocused appearance, kind of like a photo. That actually wasn't my original intention, but I like the result.

I also created an acrylic painting of the same scene a few months ago. While I liked the premise, I didn't really love the end result! Making a digital version was inevitable, so I could tweak it and make more real-time changes (versus spending more time in the planning stage for a paint-on-canvas version).

My day job has been very demanding lately because it's the middle of summer, which is the busiest time of year in my line of work. So, for now, this scene will remain a sketch instead of a fully developed painting. In the future, I would definitely consider circling back around to this particular subject because the elements of it just really appeal to me.


Acrylic version, acrylic tree study, reference pic

Do you enjoy being in a rural setting? What kind of environments are you most comfortable in?

Thanks for reading! See you all on the next one.
-Ema

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now