Gretel

Hello Sketchbook, and welcome back to emanate artworx! Today I'm sharing my sketch inspired by the character of Gretel from the fairytale Hansel and Gretel.

Gretel
Emanate Artworx
Size 2304 x 3072
Materials IbisPaint X, sketch on paper
Duration 4.5 hours


The idea for this was pretty straightforward: picture an independent lady who doesn't really care what you think of her. She went through extreme childhood trauma when she was lured into a nightmare house by a witch who tried to kill her and her brother. (Things didn't go well for the witch in the end.) Nevertheless, Gretel still kept her sparkle. ✨️

Additionally, I wanted to use this portrait as an exercise in grayscale to see values more clearly. The sketch was kinda iffy, since I didn't use a reference 😏, but I patiently modified until I was satisfied with it. My favorite part is the stars by her eyes. 🤩

I used pen (fade) for the grays because it's easy to blend without actually blending. When I added the colors I used a really helpful tip that (The Epic) @solumviz shared with me; add a layer on top of everything, set to blend mode Overlay at a medium/low opacity, then add yer colors and voila.


Thanks for reading! 🧡🧡🧡 See you all next time,
Ema

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now