Flower Sketches

Hello, Sketchbook Community!!

Welcome back to emanate artworx. Today, I'd like to share some flower sketches I made. I made these for stress relief a few weeks ago when my day job was extra demanding and I didn't have time to do anything more involved. Plus it was an opportunity to test some of IbisPaint's many brushes and explore techniques that I can use later.

IbisPaint has an extensive how-to video library that shows tools and techniques, like ---
•"how to paint metal"
•"copic like"
•"applying transparency"

➡️ If you're interested in learning how to use this app, I recommend checking out their youtube channel, where new content is added regularly.

For these flowers I was inspired by the video, "Crayon Art analog like", that demonstrates how the gouache mix 2 brush can be used to mimic the look of crayon. I didn't follow it exactly, just used it as a guide : ).

I really like the look of this brush! In fact, I used it on a portrait that I'll be sharing in an upcoming post. It's got just the right amount of rustic-ness or chunkiness 🤔 to it. Personally, I haven't used gouache IRL, so I don't know if it is a good rendition from that perspective, but to be honest, I don't care because it looks great on the digital works.

Pen fade is still a favorite brush as well, but its appearance is a lot smoother and blendy-er. There are definitely a lot of brushes to choose from in this app, it is ridiculous, in the best way. Who doesn't love variety!?

This app is a life saver for me because I can use it any time I'm away from my art corner at home to create little works. Art therapy really does help ease the mental and emotional burden of being an adult 😆.

So, for these blooms I just went off of memory instead of references. They were all done quickly, within 5 - 10 minutes. And, to be clear, I used other brushes in addition to the beloved gouache mix 2. Pretty straightforward, though. Here they are!

Emanate Artworx
Ibispaint ver. 10.0.8 for android
1280 x 1280
Less than 2 hours total for all


YT Video reference used

What are your stress relievers?
Thanks for reading, see you on the next one!
Ema

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now