Swatching 24 Colors of Himi Gouache and Painting Samples

Hi, Hive and Sketchbook Community! In my introduction blog, I also introduced a brand of gouache paint that I will use for this passion project. I am not an expert painter because back when I was young, I was using a cheap watercolor and I couldn't afford acrylic paints. But I used 5 colors of textile paints for t-shirt printing and painting.

As an adult, this is the first time I invested myself in buying a paint set. I am still a beginner.

PEAKD COVER (7).png

Cheap Gouache Paint

Because of my FB newsfeed, this Himi Gouache paint appeared on different reels. I could say that this brand has a good marketing strategy because it really made me buy it. And it opened up to return to my previous hobby which is drawing and coloring. Also, the box is too cute. I got the pink. You can avail in pastel green, yellow, and blue.

It has three free brushes provided by the brand so as a beginner, I don't have to search for paintbrushes to use. I just bought additional fine brushes for details. Who knows, I will buy more brushes that will suit new techniques.

Preparing Himi Gouache video


Here in the video, I just newly opened the seal. I need to mix it with a toothpick before using it.

Swatching 24 Colors

Instead of buying 18 colors, I took 24 colors. Here are the following:

20240118_160753.jpg

Medium Yellow, Yellow Green
Sky Blue, Acid Blue
Rose, Violet

20240118_160808.jpg

Earth Yellow, Cobalt Blue
Pale Green, Orange
Purple, Ponceau

20240118_160820.jpg

Grass Green, Jade Green
Prussian Blue, Deep Red
Burnt Umber, Lemon Yellow

20240118_160834.jpg

Ultra Marine, Nude
Pale Purple, Black
Ochre, White

I've seen many reviews that say don't buy this cheap gouache paint as a beginner or you may regret it because of low quality. But as a beginner with a limited budget, I don't regret it. So, I cannot compare it with other brands of superior quality.

Somehow, I loved the vivid colors which are better than watercolors. I can also use it like watercolor so, it is not a problem.

Sample Paintings

When I opened the Himi gouache in its jelly cup form, I didn't throw the plastic seal right away as I could use the paints that were sticking into it. So far, so good. I made flower doodles with different colors.

20240118_160857.jpg

20240118_160912.jpg

20240118_160905.jpg

20240118_160919.jpg

20240118_160926.jpg

20240118_160934.jpg

Any gouache users here? Have you tried Himi Gouache? Or do you have any other brands you're using and how was it?


Check me out on the following:

Instagram - Artsy Foxy Roxy

YouTube - Artsy Foxy Roxy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now