[WIP] Cat in a Bag - A Study

Despite being able to buy a beginner-level drawing tablet, I still have been struggling to get myself into the groove of practicing art. I did not know how to start and losing that sense of direction has always been a major pain point. Consuming different tutorials have also led me to feel overwhelmed, too. My only consolation was knowing that I am not alone in this and I have to let myself make mistakes.

Work in Progress
Reference photo by edbo23 from Pixabay

This will be my first attempt at studying a photo. I came across it as I was looking at C/Freewriters' event, A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words. This cat in a bag was too hard for me to resist!


Progress

There were so many thoughts that impeded me from starting this. What was my art style? How am I going to start this? What if I'm shit at it on the first try?

I knew had to stop thinking.

I created two layers at first - one for the paper bag, and the other for the cat itself. During the whole week, I found myself replaying videos for digital painting basics (1, 2) so I started using the darkest value of colors I found from the photo. This goes to say that I don't know much yet about those... I was actually wondering if that was the best thing to do.

Two things stuck with me while I was watching digital painting tutorials. The first thing was to work with shapes instead of lines. Second, don't be afraid of committing mistakes. I forced myself to avoid the eraser too and to mix colors with the darker ones.

Perhaps I was taking things easy, or maybe I just like cats, but I started to further zoom into the picture and just focus on it. The white space was definitely bothering me... I did not realize how much patience is needed to get this study done, haha. All I wanted was to paint a cat!

There was so much mixing, remixing, and repeating portions of the image. There's shading over the head that I did not bother touching - maybe I can revisit it at a different time. At some point, I caught myself getting fixated on trying to get the fine details done. I took my time working on the ears, the whiskers, and more of the fur on its face.

20221104_Capture2912762.png

Just as I nitpick everything I do, I have critiques on this piece as well. I'm not yet completely happy about the snout and the way the tissue roll looks. The paws need more refining too.

20221104_Capture2915637.png

In the end, here's what I've settled for! I genuinely enjoyed the time I spent creating this from scratch. Maybe I acquired some small experience points for creativity!

I wonder what would be the next thing I'll pick up...


What drives you to create art in a specific style? Talk to me!

And yes, you've reached the end of this post. Thanks for hanging out! See ya when I see ya.


Arc (arcgspy)

Arc likes to play games on and off the blockchain when she's not lurking around Hive/Wax.
Personal and creative dumps are all over arcgspy.
Blockchain gaming content, and beyond, will be at arcmilla.

Check her out around the interwebz:
Twitch (ENG)▶️ Facebook (FIL) ▶️ Twitter 🐦

Avatar created via picrew.me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center