To be Young and Free (A Biro/pen Drawing)

Pen on Paper... "To be Young and free”

I was inspired by my childhood. There’s a stereotype some Nigerian parents have about not giving their kids the freedom to explore and get exposure, they fear that the kids would be exposed to vices and all that which to some degree is true, yet you can’t expect a child to have a broad knowledge of who he/she is without them experiencing some certain things.

When I was little my mother would always tell me to go inside when my mates are gathered. I was really curious about my world, I wanted to know, things, but because I fear my parent would beat me, I satisfied my curiosity in secret, making me do things I shouldn’t have done. It could have been easier and my parent could have been a guide, instead they saw only the bad in the world. How can I be strong and wise in the four corners of my bedroom?

And so I am using this girl's facial expression to question those sentiments and stereotypes we hold in our society.

And this is equally to celebrate every female child out there.

20 x 25 inches

Bellow I different shots.
Please react, comment and share. Thank you.

@_ajayishogo (IG page) I'd appreciate if you stop by my Instagram. Good morning Ecency ❤️

Have a great day ahead.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now