Rem and Ram

Decided to draw something again, now after being finished something I need to keep in mind next time is to look at the reference properly before starting the drawing then midway realizing there's way too many details and it'll take me all day probably, which it almost did. Anyway, nice practice.

I started first off with a sketch of another reference but over night I had left a plate or the ice cream bowl or something on the drawing and woke up to realize these fat smidges on it:

image.png

The next day I figured I'd restart it and looking for the reference again I noticed a longer version of it, then @hiddenblade found an even longer full size reference which was probably the source so i went with that one instead. Practice makes perfect I guess, cause the dimensions and sizes, etc, went a bit better on the second attempt although I almost didn't get the heads to fit properly:

This is what the sketch became on the second attempt, although not sure why I bothered adding so many details on the sketch cause I was going for the ink either way but I guess it's good cause it kind of gave me a 3rd attempt to find even better proportions:

While drawing and talking to the expert @hiddenblade, we were discussing how shaky I was when I started with the ink, not sure if it's cause it was early in the morning but it was very noticable, especially when doing the 0.005 fineliner on the face:

Things started to go a bit better later on, though, (imo):

this is after pretty much most of the ink was done which took the longest:

then, even though I really didn't want to, I decided to add some coloring. I'm the worst at that, still have no idea how to mix these watercolor markers properly and feels like I never have the correct color from the getgo but I decided to just add like 2-3 colors max, mainly the hair+eyes and the black dresses, at the end though I was like eh, fuck it, I've done this much let's just add a bit more cause the leg part would've looked kinda weird left completely white so decided to experiment a bit more, not like I'm planning on selling this either way, nor would anyone buy it cause its neither original nor anything, but fun practice either way.

Anyway, not too happy with the coloring but honestly better than I expected. Think I'm gonna stick to ink only though in the near future, maybe experiment with some ink line shadows manga style or something. Ugh, the black color looks so disgusting, lol, plus I could've skipped so many lines had I known I'd color it to begin with, what a waste.

Anyway, this is what I did all day today, how about you? Having a nice weekend?


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now