Small Changes Over Time

         Look at that bottle of fry sauce. It's a common condiment in this part of the US. As the name suggests, it's used with your fries. It's a mix of ketchup and mayonnaise. It sounds weird, but it actually doesn't taste too bad.

         I used to be a strict ketchup with fries kind of guy because that's how I grew up. At some point, I left home and came to Utah for school. That was the first time I came across the option of having fry sauce for my food.

         What's so special about this? (Besides the fact this is an absolute shitpost.)

         I can't recall when I made the transition from ketchup to fry sauce. In fact, I can't even remember having conflicts about the said choices. This goes to show how changes happen to us sometimes without us realizing it. The environment you choose to place yourself in can and will have an effect on who you become.

         In this case, it's a mere choice in condiments. It's subtle and most likely doesn't have a huge impact in the grand scheme of things. It does, however, open up channels for personal reflection. That is, what else have I been doing that differs from what I used to? You know, the little things. That's different from the bigger events in life like financial decisions and whatnot.

         For example, I don't remember when I made the transition from orange juice with pulp to no pulp. Since I'm the one that does majority of the grocery shopping, that made it a bit more perplexing. Was there actually a reason or change in demands from the family? No idea, it is now the way it is.

         I'm sure I could list a bunch more stuff on this post, but it will become too mundane for anyone to care. The point being, we aren't the exact same person we were a few years ago. Even if we'd like to tell ourselves otherwise. Change happens whether we realize it or not.

         Anyways, y'all have a good weekend.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center