Self-employed freedom to be with my son

When I was younger I wanted to climb the corporate ladder and have a big bank account and 401K.
That was the goal in life, along with a big house and nice car.

Then my son was born. You don't realize how much you can actually love until the 1st time you look at and hold your child.
Anyone that doesn't have a child will never understand this. Then when you don't think you can love anything more or there is no room in your heart for more love, you have another child and your heart grows even more.

So one day my son was sick at daycare with a fever and needed to be picked up. My wife was at work and unable to go. I was kind of riding my desk as we were in between projects.
I talked to my manager and said I have to go get my son he is running a fever and can't stay at daycare.
He looked at me and said "you can't leave, the day is not over"

I blinked once and said "bye"
walked out the door, left my keys with security and never looked back.

I have been self-employed ever since.
Now times have been tough, at one point in 2009 I was down to my last $10 with no work lined up.
But always being there when my son needs me, makes it all worth it.

I would not trade the money, car, house for my son ever.

I treasure the days because one day he will leave and be with his son.

IMG_2992.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center