FOSS suggestions please!

One of my winter projects at the library will be a series of video presentations on free and open source (FOSS) software. Rural internet being what it is, cloud-based services requiring always-on connections are not always practical, and the perennial concerns over proprietary software from big corporations always exists everywhere.

I already plan to cover LibreOffice, VLC media player, Audacity, Blender, and Firefox. My question for you, fellow Hivers, is what other FOSS favorites do you use for different creative projects? Music, video editing, and design are high on my priority list.

Don't worry, I am also planning another video or series (TBD) on Linux, too. Right now, all I need are OS-agnostic program suggestions since this is geared more to people on Windows and Mac.

Thanks in advance! As always, I will upvote good comments.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency