Children are afraid to learn math, how to overcome them?

IMG_20230325_011212.jpg
Images Source

When I was just in 6th grade, and at that time math was in progress, there were some children who said that math was a subject they didn't like. I just found out that there is an assumption that math is a scary subject. Of all the children in my class, there are very few and they enjoy learning mathematics. They seem to think that mathematics is a scary subject so that not a few children shy away and worry when there is a math lesson. There are even children who do not go to school if there is a math lesson scheduled that day.

I keep trying to find out what causes my fear of math and I found several reasons why math is considered a scary lesson. I also approached several children who were afraid of math lessons. Using this approach, I found several answers to why children don't like math. Here are some reasons given by the children in my class who don't like math.

  1. Children who do not like math are children who do not master the basic mathematical operations such as addition, subtraction, multiplication and division.

  2. The assumption that math is a scary subject is like a myth so that when they are faced with math lessons they easily give up.

  3. There is pressure from parents and teachers who require them to be able to solve math problems, even though parents and teachers have not taught them at a stage they understand.

From some of the child's statements, I finally tried to take an approach to change their perception that mathematics is not a scary lesson but a fun lesson. Some of the steps that I take so that children enjoy mathematics are as follows:

  1. Try to start learning mathematics from the easiest way in a way that they can master.

  2. Give time to children who don't like math to follow their way of thinking in solving problems in detail. I am very aware that every child has different abilities, therefore I don't have to force myself to be able to solve math problems right away.

  3. I try to teach math to children who don't like math, starting from the simplest. Thus the children will be motivated to continue learning mathematics until they finally think that mathematics is a fun lesson.

I hope with the ways that I teach them they will enjoy math lessons.
Thank you for stopping by to clean me, I hope the question is useful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center