Why Are People Moving From X to Bluesky?

Right now, with what X formerly known as Twitter is doing is just driving people away from the platform. The Owner, Elon just doesn't give a damn anyways

First thing they started doing was messing with the core safety feature of the platform like blocking, then they made some ridiculous terms of service updates that's just downright invasive.

X is now notifying users that blocked accounts can still view their posts, so what's the point of the block button if you do that. It's just blatant disregard for people’s privacy and safety.

On any social media platform, blocking isn’t some minor feature, it’s a very important thing to have especially when we want to deal with harassments and people we think could potentially scam us.

I don't remember my twitter account though but I remember that I’ve blocked people before not because I don't want them to see what I’m up to but just to protect my own mental peace. I didn't want to many messages in my DM and too many posts on my feed. So now that, this small boundary is being dismantled, what will those that still use it do?

Besides all this messed up decisions of the company, X also wants to use people's posts to train AI models. If you don't care about what happens to your data online then you won't be bothered but for those that care it's certainly a breach of trust.

Of course , using people's data is not a new thing but they're now using people's words, thoughts and intellectual property to fuel some machine learning system without asking first. That's just wrong but who's going to stop them? Do you have enough money to go on a lawsuit with this guys? Nope. Try suing Elon Musk and see what happens.

What an irony, X wants to monitor our lives and yet Elon Musk openly criticizes privacy measures like blocking.

Perhaps this is why Bluesky is getting lots of users coming in now. People are looking for a place that respects their autonomy. I don't know why no one has point them to Hive or Blockchain platforms, maybe because it could be the same situation. People flocked to Bluesky this week. In their Google playstore description they say it's "social media as it should be" it’s not perfect, but it looks more like what social media should be.

Oh and just in case anyone thinks this is some sort of advertisement for Bluesky it's not, I wish it was an affiliate 🤣 I'm not getting paid and besides Hive is a better deal than both X and Bluesky

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center