Conquering My Fear of Speed Bumps

Source

Hi there,

I had so much fear of speed bumps. Each time I saw one, my heart would beat fast and I would crawl over it. I seemed like the bump would gobble up my car! However, I am working on that. Here is how.

One of the things that was important was for me to know why bumpers are there. They exist not in order to frighten us, but rather to protect us from ourselves. Cars are slowed down by it so that everyone else who is using road can be safe especially children and animals.

At this point it came into my mind how other people approach speed bumps. It dawned on me that many people just go past them without any issues. If they can make it why not me? This made me decide to have a different mindset about them and meet with more confidence in their regard.

Further, I also practiced driving over speed bumps in a safe area with little traffic which made me get used to the sensation of driving on them. First, I was going slowly over them before gradually increasing my speed when I felt more at ease.

Additionally, another thing that helped me is reminding myself that my car is built for speed bumps because it absorbs the shock so that I do not feel it too much. This information made me feel a lot better about approaching a speed bump.

Today however, any prompt sight of a speed bump makes my heart pound and I breathe deeply to reassure myself. Sometimes prior to reaching the other side of one without realizing it, in fact it is through such means that I usually reach the other side almost unnoticed. It feels good to know that I am beginning to conquer my fear step by step, one speed bump at a time.

At times, I still find myself feeling slightly anxious even though I do not allow it to hinder me. Through practice, I understand that it will become simpler. Additionally, it is possible that someday I will cease remembering that speed bumps ever rattled my nerves.

Therefore, if you are like me and fear the idea of hitting speed bumps; don’t worry about it. It is just something to get over as well which is what am doing. Just take one at a time and before you know it you will be cruising over them like they were just mere humps on the road.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center