How I went from 16/18 wins to 18/25 wins ranked mythic. I'm sad

I went from 16/18 wins to 18/25 wins

My run started great. I played calmly and controlled with no pressure. I felt I had control most of the games, but lost 2 games to bad RNG and amazing hands by my opponents.

Everything started great as you can see. One unlucky loss to Sedithesa playing a magic deck. He had answers to most of my plays and outvalued me and got me down pretty early in the game.
![image.png]

Then I lost to a mirror matchup, going second and being out-tempoed by Mokongboy. 8/10 is still fine, I'm calm and collected.
image.png
Here I win 5 in a row, and I'm at 13/15 feeling optimistic for a personal best, and I'm getting excited.
image.png
Here I'm still pretty excited and win 3 more games until I face Wezz and lose to his board wipe deck. I have a really great hand, great draws and I play my minions as fast as I can, but he has the perfect answer to every one of my cards. Every time I play against Board Wipe Death I'm not having a fun time. This loss tilts me.

I take a small break. Make a cup of tea. Try to mentally reset and calm down before I continue the last 5 games. I'm currently 17/20. I can still make a great outcome. I can possibly get 22/25.
My tea is ready. I sit down again. Breathe and get ready for my last 5 games.

Then this happens.

image.png

First I play a Zombie death deck by a guy called unlucky_luke. He started first, and plays minions which i can't remove early. Being second is such a hard time vs tempo decks like zombie death. He coins out cursed obelisk at turn 2, he has one zombie on board so he gets the frenzied off. I can't remove it.
image.png
I'm on the back foot. On his next turn, he plays Necroscepter. He now generates 3 zombies per turn, one of them being 2-2.
image.png
Despite his unlucky name, unlucky_luke seems pretty lucky when it comes to his hand in this game.
I lose.

My motivation is crushed. I try to take a small break before I queue again, but I'm still pretty shaken.
I need to finish my games before the weekend is over, so I'm also fighting the clock here.
I decide to continue, pushing through.
I queue into another death deck. My third death opponent in 4 games. This guy also drops Cursed Obelisks on the perfect curve. I lose.
I lose again vs. a war deck,
one win,
one lose.

rip my dream of personal best, glory and fame on the leaderboards.
You have to scroll pretty far to see my name now.

I guess I'll practice more and try next weekend.
How was your weekend ranked? Mine was not the best, but I'll play more during the week, practice and try again next weekend ranked :D

I hope you all did well!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center