REFORMED

img_0.1367622399984108.jpg Source

"I am not asking for a favor, I am telling what you have to do as my staff"

Being boss doesn't make your subordinates less than you and being a lady boss does not have to make you stern and cruel, it is not truth but a weakness. Rita lived a reverse of all of this and didn't care about the existence of any other person than herself. She talked down every other staff of the company especially the lady who ran errands and cleaned the company- Mary. Rita owned an interior decor company which was experiencing lots of recent lapses at the time which also made her worry alot but luck shone upon them when her company received a quotation from the office of the senator to work on the interior decor of his latest project but they were to compete with another company, Rising Heights, of which she was well acquainted with the CEO.
She quickly made an announcement to her best team as the contending company was good and she really needed to win the contract to increase the output of the company. The next morning she was set to leave when her personal assistant called in sick and wouldn't make it for the presentation, she was quite pissed but had to get a replacement for her and the only person that came into her mind was Mary who wasn't the least set to travel but was left without an option than to obey her unfriendly and nasty boss. She laid out her rules:

  • When I say I need coffee, don't let me ask twice
  • If I ask for documents it means place it in my palms.

She tried so much to adjust to her new job description which was to last for a week. Her boss handed her a few dresses that she would use during the presentation.
First day went very well and smoothly until the senator took a special liking for Mary and he didn't fail to show it even after she had spilled hot coffee on the senator because of the really uncomfortable shoes her boss gave her. She stayed up all night thinking about what her boss would do to her and decided to visit the pool side of the hotel where she ran into the senator again. He invited her to share his drink which she obliged until he started making advances at her, she hurriedly ran back to her room. He suspected her room wasn't so comfortable and maybe that's why she couldn't sleep so he asked his staff to change her to her suite.
Hello good morning, the pretty room service attendant said, I'm here to relocate your things to a suite as directed by the Chairman.
Did the senator ask the chairman to do this she said?
"The senator is the chairman", the attendant replied.
Her new room was a lot bigger and more comfortable but she tried all possible means to avoid the senator who wouldn't stop.
"I know the senator likes you, Rita said as she stepped into her staff's suite, and you are going to use that to our company's advantage.
"My morals are against that, Mary replied, I would never do such a thing, I have a boyfriend Ma and I won't dare cheat on him she added.
"I am not asking for a favor, I am telling what you have to do as my staff and you will do exactly as I have said, Rita continued"
"And I am telling you that I won't, Mary fired back, you look down so much on me and now you expect that I will be with the senator just so your company wins, well I won't, nobody likes you especially at the office, you are nicknamed "willie willie" that is witch, the scary ones we see in movies. Infact someone in the office said that if our office caught fire, he would save anything and everything in it but you. People do not like you, Ma you really need to change, you need to work on yourself, everything wouldn't always go your way"
It was only until then did she realize all the harm she had caused to people around. Her pursuit for financial stability stole away the once sweet loving and caring Rita. She immediately went off to find Mary to apologize to her. She also promised to turn a new leaf, treat her staffs well and learn to appreciate and encourage them more. Most importantly she realized that while trying to chase greatness, everyone else had a role to play and didn't deserve to be sidelined. Well, she didn't get the job but a raised rejection fee. To start off on the right side she announced a raise in salaries of all her staffs all thanks to the Mary who stood up to her.

The end

You can be a part of the contest by simply clicking on @theinkwell/the-ink-well-prompt-66-plus-weekly-challenge-and-prize-announcement. Thank you for visiting my post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency