The Agonizing Wait of the Master - The Ink Well Fiction Prompt [ENG - ESP]


Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash


Imagen2.png

Some time has passed and I feel that I am still trapped in this limbo of decisions that every day devour my head. The power that is in my hands I cannot make it disappear, and although it allows me to maintain a latent life, I feel that guilt stabs me with its lacerating injurious weapons. If I open my mouth at this moment, all this effort of salvation will likely be destroyed forever.

The Master has changed so much, that he is not even a shadow of his former self. He used to go to the parks to talk to strangers and passionately transmit his knowledge. The children would listen to him as if he were a storyteller whose stories left traces in their hearts. In the afternoons he would kill time at his blackboards preparing classes for the young people taking his music workshops. And when night fell, he could be heard singing with a harmonious voice just like the nightingales in his secluded house on the only hill in the village.

The Master was very happy, but only when Rosie was there; his wife, who is now out of the country on an anthropological excursion in Libya. When she left, part of the Master left along with his wife, and gradually, the activities that characterized him began to disappear.

I was concerned about the Master's mental health, so I convinced him to rent me a room in his house to live with him. I have always been very fond of him, because thanks to him, I found my passion in life through music, and he saved me from the darkness in which I was immersed because of my dysfunctional family. I felt I owed him, so I did everything in my power to help him.

The Master was slowly losing his faculties as the years went by. Old age came upon him faster than any other creature on earth. His hair, now silver, was confused with the smoke he exhaled from his cigarettes. He no longer felt like a human being but like a wandering ghost among the dark corridors of his home, betrayed by the deadly edge of a promise.

His only company was the window of his room, adorned with a landscape towards the horizon where he anxiously awaited the return of his beloved. He began to lose touch and sensation, and several times disassociated every time I prepared food for him.

"Oh, Will, did you make cheese ravioli? It's Rosie's favorite, did you know that?" Master would say in a cheerful voice as his eyes sparkled like amber gems. "When she comes, I'll make her favorite food, it'll be a great way to welcome her!"

I smiled and made him see how fantastic I thought his idea was, but it was a fleeting thought as he quickly returned to his prison of afflictions.

Every similar moment was the same. Every evening, after heating his water for his bath, he would comment to me about how attentive his wife was to him. He would go through his photo album with a smile on his face, and he would caress each surface with utmost gentleness.

"Do you see this picture?" he would ask, I would peek in to see the photograph of Mrs. Rosie together with the Master on a beach of sorts.

"Here Rosie and I went on an expedition in Madagascar. It was the first and last time I accompanied her. God, I hated to travel! I realized it that day, so I told her I would never accompany her again." He recounted in hilarious mode.



Photo by Chris Boyer on Unsplash


I just gasped with laughter, I kept looking at the Master very worried. I hoped he would notice, or show me some indication, that he had already shown me that photograph a hundred times along with the same anecdote.

At first, I would tell him, but my words seemed insignificant to him. Eventually, I realized that the Master was lost and the only thing that held him to this world was the hope of meeting his wife again.

Perhaps that was why I did what I did; out of pity, to always keep that homesick heart alive. One morning, some mail came to the house. The Master's mail had been mixed with mine, and among them was a letter from the Anthropology Department of the University of St. Charlotte. It reported the death of Madame Rosie in an accident in the ruins of the ancient city of Ghadames in Libya.

My eyes bulged with horror and grief, then became drenched with tears, not so much for the death of poor Rosie, but for the Master How could I deliver such horrible news to him? What would happen to him? The Master's life depends on his beloved's return to his arms, if I deliver this letter to him and he takes it badly, I could not bear to see the fall of such a great human being!

My thoughts brought me to a conclusion that left me static, and there I remained. I hid the letter from the Master by hiding it under my bed and have not taken it out since. Seven months after that, the Master continues with his usual routine of observing the perishable horizon for hours through the window of his room.

The courage to tell him the truth was never a road to travel. Every time I see his face I feel guilty and at the same time I comfort myself with hypocritical words repeating over and over again: I am saving a noble life from death.

THE END


Imagen1.png

LA AGÓNICA ESPERA DEL MAESTRO


Ha pasado un tiempo y siento que sigo atrapado en este limbo de decisiones que cada día devoran mi cabeza. El poder que está en mis manos no puedo hacerlo desaparecer, y aunque me permite mantener a una vida latente, siento que la culpa me apuñala con sus lacerantes armas injuriosas. Si abro la boca en este momento, es muy probable que, todo este esfuerzo de salvación se destruya para siempre.

El Maestro ha cambiado mucho, ya ni es la sombra de lo que fue. Solía ir a los parques a conversar con extraños y transmitir su conocimiento de manera pasional. Los niños lo escuchaban como si se tratara de un cuentista cuyas historias dejaban huellas en sus corazones. En las tardes mataba el tiempo en sus pizarrones preparando las clases para los jóvenes que tomaban sus talleres de música. Y cuando caía la noche, se le escuchaba cantar con armoniosa voz igual que los ruiseñores en su casa apartada sobre la única colina del pueblo.

El Maestro era muy feliz, pero solo cuando Rosie estaba; su esposa, quien ahora está fuera del país en una excursión antropológica en Libia. Cuando ella se fue, parte del Maestro se marchó junto con su mujer, y paulatinamente, las actividades que lo caracterizaban comenzaban a desaparecer.

Me preocupó la salud mental del Maestro, así que lo convencí de que me alquilara una habitación en su casa para vivir con él. Siempre le he tenido mucho aprecio, pues gracias a él, encontré mi pasión en la vida a través de la música, y me salvó de la oscuridad en la que estaba sumergido por culpa de mi familia disfuncional. Sentí que se lo debía, así que hice todo lo que estuvo a mi alcance para ayudarlo.

El Maestro lentamente perdía sus facultades con el pasar de los años. La vejez le llegó más rápido que a cualquier otra criatura sobre la tierra. Su cabello, ahora plateado, se confundía con el humo que exhalaba de sus cigarrillos. Ya no se sentía como un ser humano, sino como un fantasma ambulante entre los pasillos oscuros de su hogar, traicionado por el filo mortal de una promesa.

Su única compañía era la ventana de su habitación, adornada con un paisaje hacia el horizonte en donde esperaba con ansias el regreso de su amada. Empezó a perder el tacto y la sensibilidad, y varias veces desasociaba cada vez que yo le preparaba de comer.

“¡Oh, Will! ¿Preparaste raviolis con queso? ¡Son los favoritos de Rosie! ¿Lo sabías?” Decía el Maestro con alegre voz mientras sus ojos resplandecían como gemas ambarinas. “Cuando ella venga, le prepararé su comida favorita. ¡Será una excelente forma de recibirla!”

Sonreí y le hacía ver lo fantástica que me parecía su idea, pero era un pensamiento fugaz, pues rápidamente volvía a su cárcel de aflicciones.

Cada momento similar era lo mismo. Cada tarde, después de calentar su agua para su baño, me hacía el comentario de lo atenta que era su esposa con él. Revisaba su álbum de fotografías con una sonrisa en su rostro, y acariciaba cada superficie con suma delicadeza.

“¿Ves esta foto?” Me preguntaba, yo me asomaba para ver la fotografía de la señora Rosie junto con el Maestro en una especie de playa.

“Aquí Rosie y yo fuimos a una expedición en Madagascar. Fue la primera y última vez que la acompañé. ¡Dios, yo si que odiaba viajar! Me di cuenta ese día, así que le dije que no volvería a acompañarla.” Relató en modo hilarante.

Solo jadeé de risa, me quedaba observando al Maestro muy preocupado. Esperaba que se diera cuenta, o que me mostrara algún indicio, de que esa fotografía ya me la había mostrado ciento de veces junto con la misma anécdota.

Al principio se lo decía, pero mis palabras parecían insignificantes para él. Con el tiempo, me di cuenta que el Maestro estaba perdido y lo único que lo sujetaba a este mundo era la esperanza de volver a encontrarse con su esposa.

Quizás fue por eso que hice lo que hice; por lástima, por mantener siempre con vida a ese corazón nostálgico. Una mañana, nos llegó una correspondencia a la casa. El correo del maestro se había mezclado con el mío, y entre ellos, había una carta del Departamento de Antropología de la Universidad de Santa Charlotte. Allí informaban sobre el fallecimiento de la Señora Rosie en un accidente en las ruinas de la antigua ciudad Gadamés, en Libia.

Mis ojos se desorbitaron de horror y pena, luego se empaparon de lágrimas, no tanto por la muerte de la pobre Rosie, sino por el Maestro ¿Cómo podría entregarle tan horrible noticia? ¿Qué sucedería con él? La vida del Maestro depende de que su amada vuelva a sus brazos, si le entrego esta carta y lo toma a mal, ¡no podría soportar ver la caída de tan grandioso ser humano!

Mis pensamientos me llevaron a una conclusión que me dejó estático y ahí me quedé. Le oculté la carta al Maestro escondiéndola debajo de mi cama y desde entonces no la he vuelto a sacar. Hace ya siete meses después de eso, el Maestro sigue con su rutina habitual de observar el horizonte perecedero por horas a través de la ventana de su habitación.

El valor de decirle la verdad jamás fue un camino por el cual transitar. Cada vez que su rostro me siento culpable y a la vez me autoconsuelo con hipócritas palabras repitiéndome una y otra vez: Estoy salvando a una noble vida de la muerte.

FIN

Texto traducido con Deepl | Text translated with Deepl

Enlace aquí

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency