Monique - The Ink Well Fiction Prompt [ENG - ESP]


Photo by Zach Guinta on Unsplash


Imagen2.png

I always believed that you would be my downfall. I knew it, but I always refused that truth. Now I emphasize it again, bleeding out in this nightmare of disappointment, imploring time to return to the day I met you.

Monique, my angel, it was your amber eyes that captured me when they walked through the door of that coffee shop. I saw them and they saw me. An impulse of connection stabbed into my gut and subdued me. Then came your smile; oh, to top it off! I wasn't prepared, I swear! I felt like an unsuspecting prey in the face of danger.

Your short, black, curly hair. Your slender figure was adorned with that pastel white dress that highlighted the curves of your body. Your skin is smooth, caramelized, and radiant as honey. Your perfect, shiny teeth, are polished like white pearls. I loved everything. Everything captivated me, and getting close to you was not as difficult as it could be.

You sat at that table a few feet away from me. You seemed distracted, and preoccupied, looking off to the side as if everything around you didn't matter; not even the waiter who approached you to ask for your order.

Maybe I was too reckless or a fool who got carried away by the shock; like an innocent creature. I just wanted to know if you were okay or if you wanted to talk a little.

You looked at me again and smiled, with a particularity I would never have expected. That was the hook that dragged me to talk to you. It was like a trap, if only I had prevented it at that moment.

Eventually, we met and started dating. I noticed you are so distinct. So cultured in different subjects; especially in philosophy. You had a peculiarity that from the beginning I loved every time you did it, as you delicately touched my arm and lay on it as if it were a pillow.

“Alfonse, do you believe in destiny?” You asked me once. I was stunned, but with you, I didn't know what to expect.

“I guess I do,” I replied. “Maybe that's the cause of you and me being here.”

Your eyes sparkled as if I had given you the best answer in the world. Then you gave me a tight hug and began to whisper.

“I think all those speeches, thoughts, and philosophies, only serve to lead us to the obvious: a promising goal,” you told me and then fell silent for a few seconds. “It's like a fairy tale with a happy ending. Do you think some people have had stories like that in real life?” Those words. That laugh-out-loud laughter that came next to break the thread of the situation. I didn't know what to answer you, so I kept silent, and now pondering on it in my current unhappiness, I think you said it because you had doubts about what was in store for us.

“Sometimes you say very complex things for a high school teacher, Monique,” I said jokingly to soften the moment and you took it as such.



Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash


It was the one moment we had that seemed everlasting, then our courtship grew even stronger. We lived together. I proposed to you and in less than a year we were married.

Your happiness was manifested through your food. When you were cheerful, you prepared delicious lasagna dishes. Cream of mushroom soup with stuffed and baked eggplant on the side. Mashed potatoes dipped in goat cheese and butter accompanied by that rich cheesecake. And those bagels that drove me crazy and turned my palate into a space for pleasure.

The wonders of our relationship were manifesting through your food, Monique, and that's how I realized that things changed abruptly.

The problems between us gradually escalated and the atmosphere from one moment to the next became toxic: fights, lack of communication, disagreements, lack of interest, and intimacy. Difficulties accumulate and manifest themselves with your food. Every dish became rough, unpleasantly lumpy, and tasteless. And one day, just out of nowhere, there was no more food served on the table.

I was afraid of losing you, Monique, that everything we had built would be forgotten forever: “Let's go to therapy. Let's do our part to save what is ours.” I told you innocently. I was predisposed to a firmer and more determined attitude. That day, when we were arguing, and our relationship was leaning over an abyss, I wanted to hug you. I wanted to tell you that everything would be all right, and you looked at me in such a terrible way, as you had never looked at me before.

There was no trace of the previous Monique left. Your eyes turned gray and your expressions drooped. Your skin was cold as the dead. You trembled. Tears spilled from your eyes like an uncontrollable waterfall, and in a miserable second, you shot and left me wounded from then on.

“Alfonse, I was unfaithful to you...” You said as stealthy as a creature of the night, but as lethal as a snake venom. I was stunned. Paralyzed. As if I had been exposed to Medusa's gaze. The words stuck in my throat. I assure you that moment was eternal for me and no magic potion could free me.

“Who was it with?” I remember asking you without thinking.

“That doesn't matter, I...”

“So he gave you what you needed?” I stopped you, for I didn't want to hear any more from your mouth. “You know, I feel like a deluded fool now. I was thinking of reconciling with you and repairing our relationship.”

“Alfonse, this has already fallen into an abyss months ago, only you didn't realize it. I want a divorce.”



Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash


You said what I feared most. I wanted to tear the words out of your mouth. I wanted to tell you how much I despise you and all the illusions that you demolished. Your image I loathed to a point where I just wanted you to disappear, but I held back, clenched my hands, and said, “Okay, I think it will be for the best.”

Everything was sealed in that verbal pact. We never looked for each other again. Nor to speak to each of us. Nor to look at each of us. That day when you left, I went to work sad, knowing that you would no longer be at home to wait for me, and indeed, that's how it was.

There was nothing left of you, Monique, you took everything with you. The evil of my doom spread that day and, although unfortunately our beautiful feelings will not be linked again, I will always treasure the kind gesture of that day when you left when you left me on the dining room table one of the exquisite dishes that you used to prepare for me when you were happy with me.

THE END


Imagen1.png

MONIQUE


Siempre creí que tú serías mi perdición. Lo sabía, pero siempre me negué ante esa verdad. Ahora lo recalco nuevamente, desangrándome en esta pesadilla de decepción, implorándole al tiempo volver a ese día en que te conocí.

Monique, mi ángel, fueron tus ojos ambarinos los que me capturaron cuando atravesaron la puerta de esa cafetería. Yo los vi y ellos me vieron. Un repentino impulso de conexión se clavó en mis entrañas y me sometió. Luego vino tu sonrisa; ¡ay, para rematar! ¡No estaba preparado, lo juro! Me sentía como una presa desprevenida ante el peligro.

Tu melena corta, negra y rizada. Tu figura esbelta adornada con ese vestido blanco pastel que resaltaba las curvas de tu cuerpo. Tu piel tersa, acaramelada y radiante como la miel. Tus dientes perfectos y brillantes, pulidos como blancas perlas. Todo lo amé. Todo me cautivó, y acercarme a ti no fue tan difícil como pensé.

Te sentaste en esa mesa a unos metros de mí. Parecías distraída, preocupada, mirando hacia un lado, como si todo a tu alrededor no importara; ni siquiera el mesero que se acercó a ti para pedirte tu orden.

Quizás fui muy imprudente o un tonto que se dejó llevar por el impacto; como una criatura inocente. Solo quería saber si estabas bien o si querías hablar un poco.

Me miraste de nuevo y sonreíste, con una particularidad que jamás hubiera esperado. Aquello fue el gancho que me arrastró a hablarte. Fue como una trampa, si tan solo lo hubiese prevenido en ese momento.

Con el tiempo nos conocimos y empezamos a salir. Te noté tan distinta. Tan culta en diferentes temas; especialmente en filosofía. Tenías una peculiaridad que desde el principio me encantaba cada vez que lo hacías, al tocar delicadamente mi brazo y recostarte en él como si fuera una almohada.

“Alfonse, ¿crees en el destino?” Me preguntaste una vez. Quedé pasmado, pero contigo no sabía qué esperar.

“Supongo que sí,” respondí. “Quizás esa sea la causa de que tú y yo estemos aquí.”

Tus ojos brillaron como si te hubiera dado la mejor respuesta del mundo. Luego me diste un fuerte abrazo y empezaste a susurrar.

“Creo que todos esos discursos, pensamientos y filosofías, solo sirven para guiarnos a lo obvio: una meta prometedora,” me dijiste y luego guardaste silencio por unos segundos. “Es como un cuento de hadas con un final feliz. ¿Crees que existan personas que hayan tenido historias así en la vida real?” Esas palabras. Esa risa a carcajadas que vino después para romper el hilo de la situación. No sabía que responderte, así que guardé silencio, y ahora cavilando en ello en mi actual desdicha, pienso que lo dijiste porque tenías dudas de lo que nos esperaba.

“A veces dices cosas muy complejas para ser maestra de secundaria, Monique,” te dije en broma para suavizar el momento y tú lo tomaste como tal.

Fue el único momento que tuvimos que parecía perenne, luego nuestro noviazgo se fortaleció aún más. Vivimos juntos. Te propuse matrimonio y en menos de un año nos casamos.

Tu felicidad se manifestaba a través de tu comida. Cuando estabas alegre, preparabas deliciosos platos con lasaña. Sopa crema de champiñones con berenjenas rellenas y horneadas a un lado. Puré de papa bañado en queso de cabra y mantequilla acompañado de ese rico pastel de queso. Y esos bagels que me enloquecían y volvían mi paladar un espacio para el placer.

Las maravillas de nuestra relación se manifestaban a través de tu comida, Monique, y fue así como me di cuenta de que las cosas cambiaron abruptamente.

Los problemas entre nosotros se elevaron gradualmente y el ambiente de un momento a otro se volvió tóxico: peleas, falta de comunicación, desacuerdos, falta de interés e intimidad. Las dificultades se acumulaban y se manifestaban con tu comida. Cada plato se volvió áspero, desagradablemente grumoso y sin sabor. Y un día, así de la nada, ya no había comida servida en la mesa.

Tenía miedo de perderte, Monique, que todo lo que habíamos construido se fuera al olvido para siempre: “Vayamos a terapia. Pongamos de nuestra parte para salvar lo nuestro.” Te decía inocentemente. Me predispuse a una actitud más firme y decidida. Ese día, cuando discutíamos, y nuestra relación se inclinaba sobre un abismo, quería abrazarte. Quería decirte que todo estaría bien, y me miraste de una manera tan terrible, como nunca lo habías hecho.

No quedaba rastro de la Monique anterior. Tus ojos se volvieron grises y tus expresiones decaídas. Tu piel estaba fría como la de un muerto. Temblabas. Las lágrimas se salieron de tus ojos como una cascada incontrolable, y en un segundo miserable, disparaste y me dejaste herido desde entonces.

“Alfonse, te fui infiel…” Dijiste tan sigilosa como criatura nocturna, pero tan letal como un veneno de serpiente. Yo quedé atónito. Paralizado. Como si hubiese sido expuesto a la mirada de Medusa. Las palabras se me atoraron en la garganta. Te aseguro que ese momento fue eterno para mí y ninguna pócima mágica podía liberarme.

“¿Con quién fue?” Recuerdo que te pregunté sin pensarlo.

“Eso no importa, yo…”

“¿Entonces él te dio lo que necesitabas?” Te detuve, pues no quería escuchar más nada de tu boca. “¿Sabes? Ahora me siento un tonto iluso. Pensaba en reconciliarme contigo y reparar nuestra relación.”

“Alfonse, esto ya hace meses que cayó a un abismo, solo que tú no te diste cuenta. Quiero el divorcio.”

Dijiste lo que más temí. Quería arrancarte las palabras de la boca. Quería decirte lo mucho que te desprecio y todas las ilusiones que derrumbaste. Tu imagen la aborrecí hasta un punto en que solo quería que desaparecieras, pero me contuve, apreté las manos y te dije: “Está bien, creo que será lo mejor.”

Todo quedó sellado en ese pacto verbal. No volvimos a buscarnos. Ni hablarnos. Ni a mirarnos. Ese día en que te fuiste definitivamente me fui al trabajo triste, sabiendo que no estarías más en casa para esperarme, y efectivamente, así fue.

No quedó nada de ti, Monique, todo te lo llevaste. El mal de mi perdición se extendió ese día y, aunque lamentablemente nuestros hermosos sentimientos no se volverán a enlazar, siempre atesoraré el gesto amable de aquel día en que te fuiste, cuando me dejaste sobre la mesa del comedor uno de tus exquisitos platos que me preparabas cuando eras feliz conmigo.

FIN

Texto traducido con Deepl | Text translated with Deepl

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency