Letter To My Dearest.

Ivan Samkov

It was just another regular day at St. Teresa's college Lagos. As usual, I was the first student at school and I greeted the workers working and passed by my classroom. The whole school was quiet except for the chirping of the early morning birds which was heard. I placed my head on the locker trying to enjoy the peace because JSS three blue was just a sleeping beast that couldn't wait for dusk to bleed into dawn.

Soon, students started coming in and the once silent classroom was again filled with noise. I wouldn't say I was the silent type in fact I was the opposite. I was carefree and I only liked the solitude the morning had to give. I was just talking to my friend as I usually do every morning when I felt like someone was watching me. I immediately turned to see who that was and I saw it was the most quiet boy in the class. Duke was staring at me and it made me so uncomfortable.

" Is anything on my face? Why are you staring?" I questioned him but he only smiled and looked away. Some of the friends he had were extroverts and some of them started making some comments like, just look at love.

I was confused at the time and everything was too much for my thirteen year old mind to understand. But then, the boys continuously made comments about me and Duke. We spoke a few times but not all the time.

"Do you remember how we met?" Duke threw me off guard with that question. He was so quiet that he was almost invisible in the class. I guess the only time I knew he was my classmate was when we were in JSS two.

"I don't think I remember us meeting in JSS one or even having a conversation" I told him truthfully.

" Well, I remember that day as if it was yesterday. You came in through the school gates and I was so mesmerized by your beauty. You were wearing a white shirt and red skirt. The second time I saw you that day was when you walked into the classroom and said hi to some classmates. I immediately fell in love with your voice and I knew you were the one for me."

I melted almost instantly. I mean who wouldn't?Well, for the mind of a thirteen year old though. I've never had anyone confess such thoughts to me and it brought butterflies to my stomach. For a quiet boy, Duke was really smooth.

I was falling for him and I was falling fast. He wanted more but I was so scared and naive. I only stuck to calling him dearest. That was the best I could offer. I wasn't ready for a relationship and he knew that but we were happy with the sweet words and whispers of nothings. The only conflict I had with Duke was that it was as If I was forcing a conversation between us because I was the one always making conversations. It was days to valentine's and we had a really big fight. Words were thrown and I brought out everything that was bothering me.

I thought it was the end for us because I really said a lot of things. But then, on Valentine's day, I got to my bag and saw a white rose, my favorite, Some chocolates, did I mention I absolutely loved chocolates?My favorite rose scented perfume and a letter. I wasn't really expecting anything for valentine and so I was shocked when I saw all this. Opening the letter, I was floored instantly.

"

Letter to my dearest

Hey,

I know I may not be the best,

But I want to be the best for you.

I may not give you the best replies,

But I sure would never ignore you.

I might be busy,

But I will clear everything off my schedule just for you.

I might not tell you the truth,

But I do these things for us, most especially you,

Because some things are better left undisturbed

I'll never lose hold of you,

I'll never let you go,

There's nothing like loving you,

Not saying it.

Your dearest."

Duke And I never had the opportunity to actually have a relationship. It was due to certain factors and gossip people had to say. We only remained in what I would call a situationship. I remember everything like it was yesterday. The love and affection he showed me is something I could never forget in a lifetime. This memory is something I enjoyed writing and I really love telling people about it. There are certain things I couldn't say, but then, I lived it and I loved it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency