My Race Against Time to the Exam Hall

In my haste to make it in time for my year two final exam, I discovered that I had overslept and was running way behind schedule.

Without wasting any time, I hastily rushed into the bathroom poured water on myself, wore my already ironed clothe, took hold of my writing materials, and dashed out the door without a second thought only to discover later that the major means of identification as a student of my school, had been left lying idly on top of the center desk in my room.

Photo From Pixabay

While traversing to the room of assessments, an undeniable sensation of apprehension surfaced within me😮‍💨. A premonition persisted that some unfortunate event was bound to occur. Upon nearing the entryway, a formidable officer caught my attention as he glowered at me with skepticism.

I tried as much as possible to avoid making eye contact with him (actually, he was a well known strict officer, who always ensured every student obeyed all laid down rules no matter how little the rules seemed).

Photo From Pixabay

Just as it was my turn to be checked in, the officer walked up to me and requested for my school identification card(ID Card)

I stretched my hand towards my breast pocket since that's where i always kept it...that was when my realization dawned on me that it wasn't where I regularly kept it...." Where is it? I can't find it! " I said in a very shaky voice. a sense of unease overwhelmed me as I still continued combing through all the nooks and crannies of my bag and pockets frantically but alas! The ID card had vanished into thin air.

Despite my pleas in desperation that were imbued with sincerity beyond reproach, this official refused to let me enter the exam hall as he believed there were ulterior motives behind me coming without a school ID; namely impersonation or illicit substitution meant to deceive authorities responsible for safeguarding academic sanctity. Hmmmm😮‍💨.....

As I stood there, with lost hope, soliloquizing "should i just go back to my room? But doing that will make me really really late for the exam!!🤔"," Am i actually going to fail this course because of my ID?" Looking at my fellow students, filing into the examination room freely made me feel small, insignificant, and even more disturbed. It was hard to fathom that one careless misstep could derail all my years of study so easily; yet here we were.

At the moment when I believed complete despair was inevitable, my roommate - who luckily for me noticed that my identification card was resting upon our table,chose to bring it all the way down to my examination hall, knowing fully well that i would most likely need it to be able to sit for the examination. Upon recognizing me hovering outside of the testing room with an air of hopelessness enveloping me, he promptly handed my school ID card to me. And I gave it to the officer almost immediately.

After a slight hiccup, the officer offered an apology and granted me access to the exam hall. I was so thankful to my roommate for his last-minute assistance that saved me from failure...i literally bought some gifts for him after the exam to show appreciation😅😅.

Photo From Pixabay

It was incredible seeing how he remembered both bringing along my ID card and arriving at just the right time. With this in mind, I resolved myself never again to take unnecessary risks or ignore seemingly trivial things. I actually said to myself when i was finally allowed to enter the hall "it's better safe than sorry!🤔"

When I finally settled in to commence my exams, it occurred that had I not stumbled on my ID card earlier, the trajectory of events would have played out differently.

Eventually, I aced my examinations with resounding success. That experience actually taught me well, so I cultivated the habit of verifying that my identification card accompanied me outside at all times😂😂. Besides that, recognizing those who encircled me became paramount; particularly dear friends who had consistently provided their support whenever it was required.

Thanks For Reading 🤭❤️.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency