Facing Fear

I have this friend of mine, we Stay together in the same apartment

Photo From Pixabay

If you asked him who i was, I'm very sure he was going to say above all things that i was a worrisome fellow lol.

Photo From Unsplash

He on the other hand was a young bold guy full of virtue and was never really bothered as much as i always was. Most times when he sees how worried or bothered I am about something he always finds a way of relieving me of the burden. One Friday morning, I woke up and decided to look through the window at least to see the Early morning birds as they chirp

Photo From Unsplash

It was just like every other day though the sun seemed to shine brighter than the other days that could be as a result of the rain that fell in the night. Well, instead of feeling grateful for the day, I immediately started to worry.

Photo From Unsplash

I was to have a one on one brief discussion with my boss later that day

Photo From Unsplash

i wasn't so sure what it was about, although i told him weeks before that day that i had some suggestions i felt could move the organization forward...well i wasn't very sure that was the reason he wanted us to talk and so I couldn't help but think of all the things that could go wrong.
As I got ready for work, my mind raced with all the possible outcomes. What if my boss didn't like my ideas? What if It was because I mistakenly formatted one of the office laptops the previous day? What if I wasn't able to present the suggestion I had properly to my boss? What if I got fired on the spot?
By the time I arrived at work that day, I was a bundle of nerves. Although I tried to focus on my work, my mind kept going towards the discussion I was to have with my boss. These thoughts coupled with fear didn't make me concentrate on anything else, and thus affected my productivity for that day.

Photo From Unsplash

As the time for the discussion approached, my anxiety reached its peak. I was sweating profusely even though i was in a well air conditioned office ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…,

Photo From Unsplash

And i was shaking it was so evident that i was tensed. When my boss called me into his office, I felt like I was walking to my doom. But then I decided to face my fear...and so the discussion started, I tried my best to present my ideas on how to move the organization forward i also tried to let him know (stylishly) that i made a mistake by formatting one of the laptops the previous day...well i noticed he was confused the moment i talked about the laptop and so i assumed that wasn't the reason why he called me. Every time my boss asked a question, I felt like I was going to faint ๐Ÿ˜‚. I was so tense that I began to stammer whenever I tried to answer his question, and my hands trembled as I tried to flip through the notes i had with me.
As the discussion drew to a close, I felt like a huge burden was lifted off my head.

Photo From Unsplash

My boss also thanked me for my ideas and said that he would consider them carefully. I left his office feeling relieved and happy he wasn't upset about the mistake I made, but above all, I was disappointed in myself. Because I had spent so much time worrying that I might get ejected from the office, or queried for the mistake I made the previous day.

As I sat at my desk, reflecting on the just concluded discussion, I realized something important. All of my worrying had been completely unnecessary๐Ÿ˜‚. My boss had been kind and considerate, and he hadn't made me feel stupid or incompetent. I had been so focused on anticipating the worst that I had sabotaged myself.

From that day on, I tried to be more mindful of my worries. Without anyone telling me, I realized that it was important to be prepared and informed, but I didn't want to spend all my time anticipating the worst.

Honestly speaking, It wasn't easy, but I worked so hard to change my mindset.

Over time, I became more relaxed, just like my friend lol. Most importantly, I was able to enjoy my work without constantly worrying about the future.

Photo From Pixabay


Thanks For Reading ๐Ÿ˜โค๏ธ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency