Elf prints

-There it is again.

-Braves, what is it this time?"

-Eif prints. I told you I've been seeing a lot of these lately.

-Braves, you haven't gotten over your elf fantasies. How can you tell it's an elf print.

-How can you not. Come over here Dodge.

Dodge walked over to Braves splashing through the muddy soil.

-Now bend over here, what do you see.

-I see foot print of someone barefoot.

-Exactly! Who would walk barefoot in these woods.

-A kid who wants to mess around in the mud.

-Dodge look close enough. Humans have five toe nails, this print is not even up to four.

-Braves quit messing around. We need to head home before Mom and Dad will get worried.

Meet Braves the kid who almost discovered that my kind actually exists, and his brother the doubting Dodge. The fact that at the age of five, brave was able to tell an elf print amazed me, this made me pick an interest on the kid. Sometimes I'd mess with him and leave him some clues then watch him study it passionately. He ends up coming up with interesting theories.

Back at home, Braves room was decorated like a tree house. With several elf knights standing on his little war table. He had the complete Elf attire, Caps, socks and all, locked up in his cupboard. Next to his elf staff was a green box with bold paintings which read; Elf gems. In that box was all the tiny clues I have ever sent his way. His obsession for Elves was cute.

One day my sister saw me watching the kid, she walked up to me and said.

-You know if you keep teasing him, one day he is going to want to find you at all cost.

~Sis, He is just a kid.

-You will be surprised how fast these humans grow.


Like every other hobby, one day you will get tired of them. After several years, I totally forgot about Brave and I thought he forgot about me as well. With time, I realized I was totally wrong. One day while on patrol duty, my partner discovered something unusual and called my attention.

-A human has been here lately." He said.

I stooped down and observed the surrounding closely.

~The human seems to be walking in the same pattern trying to unlock the Elf lands. I added.

-How would a human know the pattern.

I looked up to my partner and said.

~The scent on these tracks are familiar. I think I know who is trying to penetrate into our lands.

We took the matter back to the others. Normally, a delusion spell always solves issues as this. But knowing Braves and his level of curiosity, the delusion spell wouldn't stop him. He wasn't alone either, he had some followers who are determined to unravel the elf mysteries.

-The question remains. How did this human know about the pattern into the Elf lands? One of the elders asked.

-I think my brother here knows the answer to that. My sister said as she walked into the huge gates of the counsel room.

-I warned you, but you wouldn't listen. You gave that kid too much clue. He followed your prints and now he is here for you.

~I guess I gave him a little more than I should have.


UNSPLASH
-With due respect elders, I'd say we kill and bury those humans and end all this. We can't risk exposure because of my brother's mistakes. My sister said facing the elders who were sitting uneasy in their mighty Silver chairs.

~Those are innocent teenagers. We can't murder them in cold blood. He is here for me, let's give him what he wants

-And grant his wishes, the next day we will have thousands of humans flooding our gates.

~I know this boy. I can get into his head and convince him to turn back."


After deliberating on the matter for a while, the elders agreed to give me one shot at trying to convince Braves. Without delay, I headed out in search of Braves. It was amazing that his room hasn't changed a bit after all those years, well apart from the new Elf stuffs he added to his collection. He was sleeping peacefully in his bed, when I muffled, grabbed him and flew him into the woods. When he opened his eyes and realized that he was under an oak tree away from his precious home, he grabbed a stick and came at me, but I flew out of sight.

~I'm not here to hurt you! I said as I came closer to him.

-What are you?

~Really, did you lose your memory. After all those years of obsession, you don't know an elf when you see one.

-I know you are an elf. I mean, is this real. Is this one of the Elf illusion tricks.

~This is not some trick Braves, I just want to...

-Wait! Wait, how do you know my name?

~That doesn't matter. I know you want to unravel elf mysteries, but you must quit your little adventure now. Right now that's what is best for you.

-You don't know what's best for me. You know nothing about me.

~Braves Compton, Born on January 5th 1935. Scared of heights and shy to talk to girls. You never go to sleep without kissing the pendant on your neck. Obsessed with elf and right now he feels that he has made a breakthrough in discovering elves. Should I go on?

-It was you all those years. Is this what this is about. You people are scared that I finally unraveled the elf mystery.

As the night breeze blew the trees left to right, Some tweaks broke in the bushes, spooking Braves who clenched the stick in his hands stronger.

-So what now. You people are here to kill me and shut me up?

~Loosen up kid. Those are rats in the bushes. If I wanted to kill you, I'd have done that a long time ago.

-So why exactly did you bring me here. Are we in the Elf lands?

~No way. This is just a cool forest reserve in Paris.

-Paris! Braves exclaimed. That's like thousands of miles from home.

~Exactly. Needed to make sure you realize that I am your only way back home. So you have to think of your next decisions wisely.

-What do you want from me.

~Abandon your quest while you still can.

-Why should I do this, especially now I'm so close.

~You always wanted to know if we exist, to see an elf. Mission accomplished if you ask me, no need to push further.

-Nobody would believe me. I need to give them some proof.

~Why do you care if they believe or not. What truly matters is what you believe.

At the end of it all, I succeeded in convincing Braves to abandon his quest, in exchange I had to pay him a visit from time to time and answer his unending questions about Elves.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency