The unexpected Surprise


source

I was sleeping in my room on a cold night outside of Lagos. I was thinking a lot as I laid on my couch. Since my partner and I started dating eight years ago, I've often questioned where our relationship was heading. He frequently refuses to answer my questions about our romantic relationships.

Even during our greatest disagreement, I couldn't bring myself to condemn the majority of his character or recall how he had betrayed and treated me with disrespect. Despite the difficulties our relationship faced, I remained committed to the partnership. Although I had good reasons to work away, I swear I won't give up on our relationship.

I was still in my room thinking when my boyfriend called me. I picked up the phone, and he told me, " Hello Tolu, where are you? Please put on your best dress and come to Dunamics Cinema; let's go out on a date". I was really happy that he was going to propose to me because I saw him place a wedding ring inside his cabinet the day I went to visit him. I hurriedly moved to the bathroom. I took my bath, did my makeup, and dressed up in my best dress.

I immediately informed my friends that my boyfriend was going to propose to me. My friends were happy for me. My heart started to race as I approached the Dunamics cinema. I was both anxious and eager at the same time. A lot of thoughts raced through my head as I pondered what the evening might hold. I entered the mall looking for my lover.

As I walked into the mall where the cinema was located, I searched for him with my eagle eyes but couldn’t pick him up amidst the crowded walkway, but then I saw a figure that looked just like him. He was standing a bit far from me, and his back was turned towards me.


source

I wanted to scream his name, but then I noticed that in the environment I was in, there were a lot of couples around. I saw a man holding his woman by her slim waist as they passed beside me. Oh, I wish that would be me and my baby. As I struggled towards the figure, I mistakenly hit a lady who was holding hands with her man; he was so tall, dark, and handsome. His hair was curly, and he had an embracing look. I told him it was Jimi at first, but then I apologized and went towards the black suit man I saw from afar.

As I could get closer, he tuned in, and it turned out to be my love. I approached him and observed his wide smile yet sad face, but I smiled as well because the joy in me knew no bounds. He greeted me and held out his hand as I got closer. We both walked into the cinema. After the movie, he led me outside, and he said,

"There's something I need to talk to you about, Tolu," he said. "I know you have been a good girl to me; you have stuck with me for good years, but then I want you to know that I've been doing a lot of soul searching and I realized that I have changed over the years; I'm not the person I used to be, and I think it's best if we end this relationship," he continued. My heart sank as he continued. The words hit my heart like a cold wave crashing all over me.


Source source

I broke down and wondered what I had been doing for the past eight yearsand how I had fought for the relationship. This was unexpected; I had been sure that he wanted to propose to me, but then life threw a curve ball at me. I hurriedly left the cinema,wondering how I got myself into this mess and how I was going to cope with life, but then I knew that endings are sometimes the beginning of a new chapter of life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency