The Voice In My Head.

img_0.4383579800540121

Casey Horner on Unsplash


Arya. Arya.

I jerk from my slumber looking around to see if I'd catch a glimpse of the soft voice this time.
I squint in the darkness, my eyes slowly adjusting to the darkness searching for anything in particular, a shape, form or shadow, anything that'd mean I'm not going mental as the old Nana says.

I stand up from where I lay for the night, stretching my muscles to ease the aches and I yearn for an apple.
It's midnight which means I didn't get much sleep as usual because this strange voice keeps calling me.

ARYA!

I look up, rapidly scanning the trees as my heart beat begins to accelerate, I hear leaves rustle in a tree and I know deep inside me it has nothing to do with air.
Breathing slowly I take careful steps towards the tree whose leaves keep rustling. To my shock I hear a laugh, so faint I almost didn't think about it, the tree leaves all move together this time confusing me and stopping me in my tracks.

Which tree was it?

I wonder as I look up at the tall, big trees all looming over me like they are guardians of some sort. I see something move towards my left and I turn abruptly to see what it is. It's a glow, a faint glow.

It must be a Firefly, I presume.

I continue my search for the tree whose leaves rustled when I hear a twig break. Fear grips me, I turn around and see the not so faint glow peeking behind the bushes beneath a tree.

It's not a Firefly!

I am feel excitement rush in my veins as I rush forward towards the light.

Arya..Arya.

"Yes!" I reply.

I am almost certain the voice came from the light, I'm not going mental! It's all real. I begin to pant as I run towards the light but the more I get closer to it, the further it retreats almost like it's leading me somewhere, guiding me.

I stumble as I break into a full run trying not to lose the light as it swiftly darts through the trees beckoning on me to follow.

"Slow down!" I say to the light through clenched teeth as the speed increases, I pump more energy into my legs not intending to give up. I dart through the trees, keeping my eyes on the light not wanting to lose sight of it.

Finally, the light hovers at the opening of a cave, waiting for me. I'm breathless and giddy so I bend over trying to catch my breath. Suddenly, the part of the forest I was led to is illuminated as the glow of light increases. I don't recognize this part of the forest and I wonder if it's the same forest.

I look around, looking for landmarks or anything that'd help me find my way back but I see nothing. The trees look different from the ones I'm used to, like statues of giants in form of trees. I look towards the cave and see that the light is hovering just at the opening and I wonder if this is it.

"Where is the voice?" I ask the light, I get no response.

I feel the first pricks of worry, when I hear the voice again.

"Arya..come."

It came from inside the cave like an echo and I have no doubt that I have to let the light guide me inside.

I enter the cave with the light shining before me, it's a really big cave on the inside, there's fine pebbles that look like diamonds on the floor of the cave and I pick a few for my Maman as proof when I tell her about this whole adventure.

I look up but can't find the roof of the cave as I follow the steady pulsing light, where it's leading me I have no idea but at the same time I'm eager to know.

The cave opens up to what looks like a meadow and what I see brings tears to my eyes. It is another world, another dimension as fields and fields of beautiful flowers go on as far as the eyes can see, the beauty outstanding.

The guiding light is no more and I am left on my own in this strange world.

"Welcome Arya, we have been expecting you."

I turn back to see who had spoken to me. It's a doe with antlers that resemble a crown. The skin of this very strange doe is a shimmering sky blue and I blink at the size and height of this creature. I recognize the voice.

"You're the voice that calls me?" I whisper in awe.

"Yes I am." She replies.

"Who are you?" I ask.

"I am your spirit guide sent to prepare you for the life chosen for you by the gods."

I stare at the beautiful creature in shock not believing my ears.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency