Fancy restaurant / Restaurante de lujo [ENG/ESP]

restaurante de lujo.jpg
source / fuente

My friend Karol works in a fancy restaurant. She always tells me about the exotic food, the lavish decor, the luxurious atmosphere and the extraordinary things of the place. I've never been to a place like that, so I was thrilled when she called to invite me to dinner.

Wonderful! My friend invites me to eat at her restaurant. Finally, for the first time, I am going to experience what it is like to be in a fancy restaurant—I shouted excitedly into the phone.

But my friend stopped me:

Calm down.... We're not going to eat at the place where I work. Here we're not even allowed to bring visitors into the main hall. You come to pick me up, but you have to enter through the back door, the one that leads to the alley, there you can ask for me.

I picked up the pieces of my joy, scattered all over the floor, and then got to thinking about my wardrobe and putting on something appropriate for a dinner party.

Mi amiga Karol trabaja en un restaurante de lujo. Siempre me habla de las comidas exóticas, de la fastuosa decoración, del ambiente lujoso y de las cosas extraordinarias que allí se ven. Yo nunca he estado en un sitio como ése, así que me emocioné mucho cuando ella me llamó para invitarme a comer...

¡Qué maravilla! Mi amiga me invita a comer en su restaurante, voy a conocer un restaurante de lujo—gritaba yo emocionada en el teléfono.

Pero mi amiga me detuvo:

Cálmate... No vamos a comer en el sitio donde yo trabajo. Ni siquiera tenemos permitido aquí traer visitantes al interior del restaurante. Tú me vienes a buscar, pero tienes que entrar por la puerta de atrás, la que da al callejón, allí preguntas por mí.

Recogí los pedazos de mi alegría, desparramados por todo el piso, para luego pensar en mi guardarropa y en ponerme algo apropiado para una cena.


guardarropa decente.jpg
source / fuente

At the scheduled time I was at the restaurant. I approached through the employee entrance, as my friend said, and got to a long hallway where, at the end, I met some people.

I am a friend of Karol Sevilla. Could someone, please, tell me where to find her?—I asked.

A girl with very big light eyes answered me:

Of course I can. She works in the kitchen area. It's by the entrance on the right, you can wait for her there. Let me go to the dressing room and let her know that her friend has arrived.

I went through the entrance I was told to take and got to the kitchen. I moved to one side so as not to get in the way of the traffic of trays coming and going, wafting a variety of delicious food smells.

A la hora pautada estaba yo en el restaurante. Me acerqué por la entrada de empleados, como dijo mi amiga, y llegué hasta un pasillo largo donde, al final, encontré a algunas personas.

Yo soy amiga de Karol Sevilla. ¿Alguien podría decirme donde encontrarla?—pregunté.

Me contestó una muchacha de ojos claros muy grandes:

Por supuesto. Ella trabaja en el área de cocina, es por la entrada de la derecha, puedes esperarla allí. Déjame ir a los vestidores a avisarle que ya llegó su amiga.

Seguí por la entrada que me indicaron y llegué hasta la cocina. Me aparté hacia un lado para no entorpecer el tráfico de bandejas que iban y venían, esparciendo olores muy variados de comidas deliciosas.

cocina del restaurante.jpg
source / fuente

Strangely enough, I got hungry. I pulled a chocolate bar out of my purse and began to eat. No one noticed me, everyone was busy. I ran out of chocolate, I was left with just the wrapper. I asked someone for a garbage can and they pointed, at the end of the room, to a large container that came up to my waist.


I threw the wrapper into the bin and headed back to where I was. But there was something there that caught my attention. I thought I saw, inside the trash, something moving...


I approached, curious, and saw that it was a female worm being held by seven giant ants apparently trying to divide the spoils. They seemed to be shouting: "I want the back", "I want the thigh", "I want the rump", "No, I got the rump"...

I was astonished to contemplate that atrocious display of insensitive barbarism while the victim was still alive and in full use of his faculties. It was simply inhuman. I thought: "Oh, Lord, forgive them, for they don't know what they do".

I could not take my eyes off that spectacle. I kept watching to see the outcome. The worm was resisting, but they had it well gripped by the seven cardinal points. Suddenly, I perceived that it made a superhuman effort. It turned in a double twist and managed to break free from its captors, who fell to their knees, battered and bleeding.

Como cosa rara, me entró hambre. Saqué una barra de chocolate de mi bolso y comencé a comer. Nadie se fijaba en mí, todo el mundo estaba ocupado. Se me acabó el chocolate, quedé sólo con el envoltorio. Pregunté a alguien por una papelera y me señalaron, al final, un recipiente grande que me llegaba a la cintura.

Tiré el envoltorio dentro del recipiente y me dispuse a regresar al lugar donde yo estaba. Pero hubo allí algo que capturó mi atención. Me pareció que vi, dentro de la basura, algo que se movía...

Me acerqué, curiosa, y vi que se trataba de una gusana (hembra del gusano) que estaba siendo sujetada por siete hormigas gigantes que al parecer intentaban repatirse el botín. Parecía que gritaban: “yo quiero el lomo”, “yo quiero el muslo”, “yo quiero la rabadilla”, “a mí me dan el ñengue”...

Yo estaba sorprendida de contemplar aquella muestra atroz de insensible barbarismo mientras la víctima aún se encontraba con vida y en pleno uso de facultades. Era algo simplemente inhumano. Pensé: “Señor, perdónalas porque no saben lo que hacen”.

Yo no podía apartar la vista de aquel espectáculo. Seguí observando para ver el desenlace. La gusana se resistía, pero la tenían bien agarrada por los siete puntos cardinales. De pronto, percibí que hizo un esfuerzo sobrehumano. Se retorció en un doble giro logrando así desprenderse de sus captoras, quienes cayeron de rodillas, maltrechas y sangrantes.

hormigas maltrechas y sangrantes.jpg
source / fuente

The worm took advantage of confusion to start a race to the edge of the container. I was thrilled for her, that was a big opportunity of escaping that cruel fate. She took the last three steps and launched herself into the void. I moved quickly forward to see where she had fallen. Only in that moment I realized that what was below was an army of ants waiting for her, arms reaching, smiling sweetly... It didn't take long for them to dismember the worm in that fancy restaurant.

I'm here—I heard Karol's voice behind me.

I turned around and she added in a low voice:

Look. Back there is a window from where you can see the inside of the restaurant. Do you still want to know what a fancy restaurant looks like?

I replied:

No, thank you. I've already found out.

Then we left. She told me we were going to eat pizza at McDonald's...

La gusana aprovechó la confusión para iniciar una carrera hacia el borde del recipiente. Me emocioné por ella, era una gran oportunidad de escapar de aquel destino cruel. Dio los últimos tres pasos y se lanzó al vacío. Me moví rápido hacia adelante para ver el lugar donde caía. Sólo en ese momento me percaté que lo que había abajo era un ejército de hormigas que la esperaban con los brazos abiertos y sonrisas de oreja a oreja. Se tardaron muy poco en desmembrar a la gusana en aquel restaurante de lujo...

Ya estoy aquí—escuché la voz de Karol detrás de mí.

Giré para mirarla y ella agregó en voz baja:

Mira, allá atrás hay una ventana desde donde se puede ver el interior del restaurante. ¿Todavía quieres conocer cómo es un restaurante de lujo?

A lo cual yo contesté:

No, gracias. Ya me enteré cómo es.

Y salimos. Me dijo que íbamos a comer pizza en McDonald's...

Mi amiga Karol.jpg
source / fuente



Soy Amelia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency