The Kiss... InkWell Writing Prompt #11


couple-kissing-1149677_1920.jpg

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay


There was something about the atmosphere that evening, as Sarah and I hovered towards her family's hub.

I had never been here before, this part of the galaxy.. As a matter of fact, I had never been to much of anywhere.. I only ever stepped outside dad's little quarters at the far edge of the galaxy. The area set aside for the commoners.

Sarah on the other hand, was a beamer. The beamers were those with connections, with power, with money. And all beamers resided in the hubs. I always wondered how and why the distinction came to be, beamers and commoners, because we attended the same virtual schools, received the same teachings, and even sometimes, went on the same expeditions. Why we had to live separately baffled me.. But it was never a curiosity that I felt inclined to satisfy... Until today...

Today I understood why the beamers lived differently. I did, but then I digress...

The hover had stopped, and Sarah and I had alighted. The hubs amazed me, but Sarah amazed me the more...

Yes, everything about the hubs was different.. The environment, the structures, the arrangement, the plants, even the air felt and tasted differently..

But as we both waltzed towards where I believed must be Sarah's family quarters, I lingered, and watched her walk in front of me... She had the most attractive way of walking I'd ever seen. And watching her, I was glad she had finally agreed to be my friend.

In my head, I knew I didn't want it to end there, at just friendship between us.. But I had no experience in these kind of things, and I didn't want to mess things up, not in the slightest bit.

"What are you thinking about?"

She had turned, and was looking at me quizzingly now. We were already at the gate of her family's quarters. The size of it alone was enough to take a commoner's breathe away. One part of my brain wanted to drop the idea that I was finally alone with Sarah, and just take in the grandiose of my immediate vicinity...

"Stanley, a penny for your thoughts..."

Her voice stopped my reverie for a few moments. I realized that soon enough she would have to go in, and I had no idea when next I could see her physically again. It had to be now, It had to be..

I moved close to her, and held her hands...

"Well, I was just wondering..."

And then I raised my eyes to hers...

Oh, the way she looked at me.. those eyes, her lips, the hint of a smile... I couldn't help myself. I leaned forward, and kissed her...

She didn't stop me... It was bliss...

On my way back, I didn't see the perfect architecture that the hubs boasted, I didn't taste the air which the commoners were restricted from having, I did not even feel the draw of the hubs... Not one bit...

I only had one thought in mind...

One single thought...

Sarah was mine, and someday I would kiss her again...

THE END?


I hope I built this world perfectly... I tried, but the story itself drew me away.

I had to come back and edit this one. I have a penchant for creating "unexpected" or "strange" endings. I don't know exactly why, but I think it has got something to do with the reaction people get at the end of reading my stories... The initial ending didn't align with the Inkwell rules, and I am terribly sorry for that. I am usually so immersed in my writings that I tend to stray... I would try to be more conscious next time.

I hope you found it worth reading, as much as I did writing...

Cheers!

#SladenSpeaks
#IfWordsWereNudes


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency