Turbulence: A Painful Experience (Creative Nonfiction) 🤕👾

Pexels

"Why would you ever tell me that I can't travel anymore, sir?!" I thought you said it's a sure route and the plan will work no matter what, so what happened, sir?!" I added. I couldn't believe I lost a shot at going back to studying for nothing. I had already started giving out some of my things when the sad news came.

When there's life, there's hope. But like a man at his lowest moment, I couldn't see the hope or even the life. The turbulence in the air was so distinct. My boss could only be silent as I ranted. It was obvious I was hurt.

I was employed as a farm manager for an agricultural company, and I already had plans for my life. I was going to pay off some debts, get a better apartment, and return to school for a second degree. Some times I felt so free with everyone that I shared many of my plans with people around me, including those at my workplace, but this later got me in a big mess.

As the farm manager at the time, I was very diligent with my duties. My boss was based abroad, while I ran his business and gave him reports on a daily, weekly, and monthly basis. "Have you filled in the Microsoft Excel report for the week?" Sometimes I feel like giving him sarcastic answers while we talk over the phone. "You could have checked your inbox before asking me questions,” I often say to myself. It's very rare for me to miss the daily records!

While I was working with him, I thought peace had been restored to my turbulent situations, especially the debts I owed and other plans I mentioned earlier. Like a fish enjoying the worm placed on a hook, I enjoyed the benefits that came with the role. A new laptop, accommodation at work, a thirteenth month salary, and other periodic perks.

I paid the price of all I enjoyed, and maybe I even gave more than I took. There were days I was at work for more than a week just to make sure things were working fine. I almost didn't have a life outside of work, but my friend back then wouldn't allow that. On a periodic basis, Deolu would make arrangements for leisure with a budget for two.

"Guy, you pay your money, and I'll pay mine; you're also welcome to pay for me just in case you're considering that." Deolu can be very funny with his ways; although he finds a way to arrange stuff for me, he still has a way of causing small troubles.

After making his request that I pay part of his bill and getting a non-concerned gesture from me, he sometimes pushes further to see if his tricks will work. "You know I spent on all the transportation to the venue we are going to, and I didn't ask you for a dime?"

After listening to his cunning statement, I always try to find a befitting response. "There are other things I've also done for you, and I didn't ask for a dime. Should we start listing?" On days with responses like this from me, he knows he's not getting a dime. Some other days I get to pay after getting tired of being pestered. Deolu was more like pain and pleasure during the period. He is a little bit problematic, and sometimes he brings relief.

After working for the agricultural company for more than 2 years, I decided to further my education and thought it wise to inform my boss. "Is there any other thing we haven't discussed before I let you go have some rest?" My boss always likes to leave no stone unturned, especially when it comes to his business.

There are days we talk on the phone for 3 hours! I saw his question as an opportunity to communicate my next steps. I have it all planned out, and my education wasn't going to affect my work. Apart from going for a part-time program, I had made arrangements to have my classes only on weekends.

"Sir, I've been wanting to tell you that I got an opportunity to enroll in a short course relevant to my discipline. Although I have it all planned in such a way that it won't affect my work as I'll only attend classes on weekends, I would still love to know your opinion, sir." His immediate response to my statement made me feel like he was supportive of my growth. "Wow! That's so great! Congratulations!" Was his seeming sincere response. I never knew he had a plan.

About two weeks to the resumption of my proposed course. My boss told me that he has an offer for me—an opportunity to travel out of the country and also study. But I may have to choose between resuming my course in Nigeria or taking a shot at traveling and studying abroad. "Thank God I haven’t paid my school fees! I'll also travel out of this country? Wow!" These were the words playing in my head as I began to imagine what the world outside Nigeria would be like.

I kept fantasizing about many pleasant scenarios, already seeing myself outside the country! "Are you still on the phone? I asked a question. " Like a man suddenly waking up from a dream he was busy enjoying, his words brought back my consciousness. "I'll love to give the one abroad a shot. So which country is it, sir?" I replied and asked.

I wrote all the exams I was required to write and even paid for some international exams. I also paid for the sending of transcripts and other documents, while my boss said he was going to pay my study permit registration fees and a few other expenses.

I was supposed to have a certain amount as proof of funds, but my boss made sure what was in the account was half of what was required, which was why I was rejected a visa. Later, the secret got leaked, but that was way after he had planted turbulence and disorder on my path to a better life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency