Beauty in the Heart (Creative Nonfiction) 🙈

The Inkwell Prompt

Unsplash

Have you ever noticed that some people you meet initially seem very harsh and antisocial, but later you discover they are so sweet and endowed with lovely attributes? One way or another, I can say I belong to this category (or I’m just capping). All I know is that maybe I don’t have all the sweetness, but people always express their surprise after getting comfortable with me. They say beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, but some people’s beauty is like a sweet tooth hidden in the mouth of their hearts. If you are not close enough, you may never see it!

“Please get out of this building before I tell people to carry you out!” The man giving this order looks like a sweet, gentle man, but his words are so off, I couldn’t help but want to react violently. “Calm down and just do as he says, okay?” Those were the words in my head from the spirit of calmness, I assume. Like a baby, old enough to walk but led by the mother, I followed the calm suggestion and went outside.

I was in 200-level as a volunteer newscaster and field reporter at the university radio station. The new man, Mr. Segun, came in after I joined, and one way or another, I wasn’t around for a proper introduction. I was in the news department, while I later got to know he was in the programs section as the assistant head of programs.

The day I and Mr. Segun met, I was in a hurry to deliver some scoop, and he was at the office to ward off intruders. Lots of people troop into the studio without having anything to do there, so he thought I was one of them, not knowing I was a sweetmeat in the studio’s pot. When I got outside, I was still angry.

“What happened, you fight person?” Ayo, one of my friends in the programs section, approached me to know what happened. I guess the anger was written all over my face. “I just met a man at the studio who told me to get out; can you imagine?” “I need to fix the news for 2p.m., and it’s already 12p.m. I don’t even know who that is!” I added. “Calm down; there must have been a misunderstanding, my gee,” Ayo replied.

As we went in, I don’t know how Ayo got the clue of who it might be; I guess he knew I wasn’t around for the introduction. He took me straight to Mr. Segun for a proper introduction. After getting to know who I was, I was so impressed with what followed. “I am sorry for addressing you the way I did; I thought you were just another intruder. I have had to deal with a lot of them today.” Like a cold drink in hot weather, his words really calmed my nerves. “No problem, sir; it’s all good,” I replied. “You know what, young man? I think I owe you a lunch; once you’re done with the news, let’s have a chat at the nearest eatery.” Another sweetener to my soul, I was surprised and happy. I quickly went for my news, knowing my belly was about to be blessed once I was done.

Pixabay

Mr. Segun turned out to be a very nice man, and funny enough, he is one of my referees to date. He has been promoted to the level of assistant director at the university. I wasn’t surprised when I heard the good news. Our first meeting made him look bad, but after getting to know him, the beauty in his heart is beyond sweetness.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency