Face the music

I live with my mom and my siblings and despite how much we were poor my mother made sure she provided for our needs even if not all so that we wouldn't look at what other kids were doing in the area.

But when girl children reach some certain stage they tend to disobey their parents because they want to have what their peers in the area have and do what is trending.

So it happens that my mom took me to a tailoring school which makes me sad because going to work after school seems like a lot to deal with but then I don't have a choice since I am not even up to someone who can make decisions for myself.

I got to the school and made new friends, then I got used to the school because of my friends. At first, my mom thought that I was loving the work not knowing what I was getting myself into in the school.

I met a girl named Tracy (that's not her real name though), the girl is so free at home to do whatever she likes and that makes me want to be like her not knowing that can never happen.

We got closer, she always skipped tailoring school and I thought I should do just like her. So one day we were not in school as usual we went to one of her friend's house because there was a birthday party there.

I told my sister in school so that she could come to pick me up when she closed from work, but before my sister came I was offered alcohol.

"Rose, do you care?" Tracy asked as she stretched a red cup to me where I sat.

"What's in there?" I asked back because I was trying to caution myself.

"It's just a drink come on," she replied as she forced the cup into my hand.

I collected it and sipped, the hotness of the alcohol made my throat hot and it burned my chest so I quickly gave the cup back to her.

"What's this hot thing you call a drink?" I asked while I squeezed my face.

"Wait a minute, don't tell me you haven't drank alcohol before," Tracy made jest of me and some of her friends laughed so I wanted to show them I could drink it, I collected the cup back from her and poured everything in my mouth at once.

"Woah...," All of them shouted and hailed me, they thought I was strong enough and Tracy poured another one and I drank everything as well.


pexels

"Go Rosey! Go Rosey!! Go Rosey!!!," The crowd hailed me and I was happy until some minutes later, I began to see two heads on one person's body and I was curious to touch them so I stood from where I was sitting only for me to lose my balance.

"Awww, you are so drunk," Tracy said as she helped me up from the ground and took me outside to take fresh air maybe I will feel better. While I was outside with Tracy my sister came.

"Hello," she greeted Tracy.

"He...ll...o..," I mimicked her back and that was when she suspected that something wasn't right about me so she moved closer.

"Rose, are you ok?" She asked but instead of me replying to her I burst into laughter and she could smell the alcohol from my breath. I could remember vividly but some minutes later, I don't know how we got home or what happened on the road but some hours later I found myself on my bed inside our house.

At first, I opened one eye which wasn't very clear by the time I opened the second one I met myself inside a pool of vomit while my mom was standing at the entrance holding a cane.

The alcohol in my body system vanished immediately after I saw my mom.

"Where have you been and how did you get drunk?" She asked.

I was about to answer when I looked at my back and saw my sister serving punishment, sweating profusely then I knew I was about to dance to the music I played for myself.

"I.. am... Am sorry Mom I will never do that again," that was all I could come up with.

"Am sure you won't do that again by the time you face the music squarely," she replied as she moved closer to where I was, I received the best beating of my life and after that, I was asked to clean the vomit and clean the whole house. I and my sister were restricted from going out except for going to school.

She stopped me from that particular school so that I wouldn't see those friends teaching me how to drink again.

I was so disappointed at myself for getting drunk but the did was done and all I could do was to be a good girl back because I wanted to make my mom see that I was sorry.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency