New Year Experiences -The Ink well Creative Non-fiction prompt #11

This New Year has been very fruitful for me. I am very proud of the achievements I have made with this hive because it was a factor that helped me to solve some problems I had. With the financial income I received from writing my stories I was able to fix my refrigerator that was damaged two years ago, this way I have my food preserved.

This year we followed the Christmas tradition at the beginning of December, all together as a family, we organized the nativity scene and the Christmas tree. When we were doing this activity, Mrs. Luisa de Silva came to my house and asked me:

"Why are you decorating that ugly and worn-out tree?". I answered her:

"This tree has with me more than forty years, but due to the bad economic situation we have in the Country because of the excessive inflation does not allow me to buy a new one" She answered me:

"Don't worry I am going to my house and I will be right back". In less than an hour Mrs. Luisa returned with a very big box that her grandson was carrying and said to me:

"This is your Christmas present". I replied:

"Thank you, this little tree is very nice and it is very tall, your gift fills me with happiness".

We immediately proceeded to decorate it. I consider it a very important gift because in each new year we dust it off and we remember with much affection the person who gave it to us. Besides, it has been a good achievement. I hope that next year someone will give me a new crib because the one I have is worn out from the forty years I have been using it.

Continuing with tradition. On Christmas Eve, half an hour before the birth of the child, we exchanged gifts among all those present, even the children participated in this act. Each one gave his gift to his secret friend. When the child was born, I proceeded to place the baby Jesus in the manger.

Within seconds, all my children and their families were present at Christmas dinner. My oldest grandson, Ernesto, began by thanking God for allowing us to break bread in unity. He was followed by everyone else, until the last one to speak finished. Then we started dinner. Also present was a new member of the family, my granddaughter Alexa's partner, who that night formalized their relationship in front of everyone present. She said:

"I am proud of Jesus because he has sworn eternal love to me and to my son, whose father abandoned him at birth." It was a very emotional moment. It filled me with happiness, because my granddaughter got a man to love her and her son got a father figure to represent him. I consider it an achievement that this new year has given me.

I remember that that same night, in spite of not having many economic resources, we were also able to make a cake and since there were many birthday boys and girls who could not celebrate this new year, among them were my children: Engels, Ernesto, Leocarmen, Simón Ylich and the great-grandson Simón Antonio. We also added Jesus and sang birthdays to each of them in the chronological order of their birth dates. This action will remain engraved in my heart and I hope it will serve as an example for other people, since by joining efforts we were able to a beautiful night

My expectations: I hope that the new year, which will begin tomorrow Saturday at midnight, God will continue to give me strength, serenity and health, to continue writing stories in the beehive for several more years and allow me to cultivate my mind so that together with my family I will have the courage to overcome the obstacles that come my way, I will continue repeating Christmas and other traditions every year, and thus continue smiling at life.


This is a non-fiction story
I hope you like it
The drawings are by me
I use the translator Deepl

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency