Brushstrokes-Theinkwellprompt # 83

In a city, where the river divides it into two zones. Communicating these, by a bridge.
On the outskirts of this city, on a hill called Cacho de venado, Anzoni, lives with his mother Antonia, who works as a domestic, in several family homes, from morning until night. Her father, Jhonni, works in the market as a food replenisher, to supply the stores of this collection center.

Before going to work, his mother drops him off at the high school where he attends secondary school. As soon as his teacher neglects him, he runs away from class and goes with other teenagers to play kites and paint graffiti.

One afternoon his mother is summoned to the high school, goes to the Lyceum, asks the teacher: "what is the reason for this summons?", "he has lost the course for non-attendance, he cannot repeat, he has just turned 15".

When he arrives home, he is accompanied by his mother, who is very angry. She tells him: "You are not at school today, you tricked me with the story that you are in class, I don't know what to do with you anymore! I don't know what to do with you anymore. He replies, "I'm sorry, I'm going to figure out what to do." Antonia refutes: "I'm going to work, I hope that when I get back you will have organized the house".

Like an arrow, she did the housework, bathed, dressed, put her belongings in a cardboard box, which served as a suitcase, and left.

Anzoni with his box, suitcase on his shoulder, walks through the center of the city, he does not know where to go, he stops at the bridge, unexpectedly, he observes that under it, towards a sidewalk that borders the river, there is a space where he can live. He looks for wood from the trees, makes a palisade to serve as walls, finishes it and settles there. He eats fish and some wild tubers,
,
At the top of the bridge there is a garbage container, from which he takes a piece of plastic that serves as a palette for painting. A ream of recyclable paper in a plastic bag, pieces of pencils, somewhat worn erasers, old cloth, glass jars to dilute the paints. He takes several poor napkins from a plant and ties them to a piece of wood with a vine to make a paintbrush.

He sits in front of his house, makes a sketch of the whole environment around him, then takes it to paper, capturing on it the different colors, he achieves a beautiful landscape. He collects them and then goes to a nearby square, where many people frequent. He exhibits them, and immediately several of those present approach and buy them at a modest price.
With that money he buys, to supplement his food and materials for personal use.

After several years. He meets his mother in the center of the city, when she sees him, she hugs him and says "Son, it's good to see you, you have become a man, it's been 4 years since you left home, I would like you to come back".

"Still, I can't go, I haven't achieved my goal".

Antonia asks him "where have you been living all these years?".
"I can't tell you, now, but in due time".

Anzoni goes to the square constantly, with his paintings on paper. That day there is a government event, commemorating a lady who was a cultural heritage. A lady, very elegant and beautiful, presides over the event. When the young man sees her, he stands in front of her, with a few brush strokes, he paints her in a fraction of seconds. When the act is over. He approaches her, very modestly and says: "it is a gift for you", very excited she exclaims "it is beautiful, I love it, tomorrow you wait for me in this same place, I will bring you something that you will love".

The next day, Anzoni waits for the lady. In a matter of seconds, she appears accompanied by a young man carrying a large box. She approaches him and says: "It is for you, open it, his hands sweat and tremble, he is anxious to see what is inside, when he could open it: his blue eyes were enlivened, like an undertow in the sea, he could see everything inside: two palettes of paint, several brushes, abundant knobs of paints, oils, rich in a diversity of colors, many canvases. Without getting out of his astonishment, he turns to the distinguished woman "Thank you for the gift, what is your name?

My name is Flor". She puts on a slight expression of sympathy and says: "I invite you to participate in a painting contest to be held in fifteen days. There are very important prizes. On that day, I will be the hostess and the jury of that contest".

A few days after this event, Anzoni goes to Cacho de Venado hill to visit his parents. His mother, upon seeing him, tells him:

"your father is very sick, in the hospital he has been diagnosed with stomach cancer, he needs 100,000 dollars to operate him surgically, I don't know how to do it!".

"Don't worry, mom, I'll see how I manage, to get it." He says goodbye. He immediately goes to the hospital.

Anzoni, on seeing him, begins to cry, "Father, forgive me, for having abandoned you, " don't worry, I will make up for my mistake, I will do everything possible, so that you will be cured," between sobs he looks his father fixedly in the eyes, filling with courage he says to him, "Hold on, old man, hold on to life, don't faint."

"Son I have nothing to forgive you, I admire, your courage." The young man kisses him on the forehead, and says: "I love you, wait for me, I'll be back soon."

He returns home, when the night comes, he is accompanied by the cri-cri of the crickets, and the singing of the frogs; lying on his bed, he prays and asks God: "Lord, help me, that my painting, come out a winner, I need money for my father's surgery."

The day of the contest arrived, Anzoni took the painting with a beautiful landscape of the river and its surroundings, it was placed in a corner of the square, accessible to all participants.
Mrs. Flor, Director of Culture, is the hostess of the event, they are all seated on the podium. She gives a talk to those present. She explains the guidelines of the contest: "the winner of the first prize will get 500 thousand dollars and a scholarship to study in one of the best universities in Italy, in Florence. The second prize will be one hundred thousand dollars and the third prize 50 thousand dollars".

The contest is held, designating Anzoni Farvan as the winner of the first prize, he receives the money and the scholarship. He requests permission to leave the event, he needs to go to the hospital to pay the money for his father's surgery.

Two days later he undergoes surgery, the efforts were in vain, the cancer invaded his whole organism. Anzoni cries, disconsolate, "God, why couldn't I get that money earlier! Lord, give me resignation, to bear this pain" his mother and he embrace each other, they cry in deep sorrow. He tells her "I will live to make you happy, to give you affection and all the material things you need!

He immediately buys a house in the center of the city, near the square, for his mother, hires a lady to accompany her and do the housework. She then collects her paintings in wooden boxes and stores them in her room.

Anzoni left for the University of Florence, where he received advanced knowledge about painting, techniques and mechanics of artistic creation. He stands out as one of the best in these studies. He graduates. Today, he is recognized nationally and internationally, for his great works, as the best of the landscape painters.

The drawings are my own.
I hope you like my publication.
Use Deepl translator.
See you next time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency