The Ink Well Creative Nonfiction Writing Prompt #21 || The proposal in my daydream.

pexels-photo-920379.jpeg

Image by Andrea from Pexels

Sometimes I laugh when I realize how my mind could fly deep into the future, envisioning myself as the commissioner's wife, the president's wife, the wealthiest man's wife, with amazing kids who would always run around the house shouting and screaming, "hey mom, dad, come see something we made for you", while myself and my amazing hubby would be outside in our beautiful big garden filled with the lovely scent of flowers most especially my favourite, Rose and sipping some chilled red wine as we talk about our future and how to give the best to our kids.

A world where it allows you freedom to wander away with no obstacles. A world where you do not have to go through a hard time surviving but get all things at your beck and call. And lastly, a world where you fantasize about beautiful things and they happened in your imagination.



On several occasions, I have found myself daydreaming and most of what triggers this is when I just finished watching a romantic movie or one that talks about a sweet mother who had to take care of her young girl alone while being worried, perhaps the father travelled and didn't remember he has a family he left behind. Many times when I go into that fantasy, I quickly snap out of it and reject such a dream because I wouldn't want to be a single mother. Never!

Smiling while being lost in the present world is something I enjoy doing all alone with no one to distract me. I have daydreamed many things and wished they come to reality at the snap of a finger. Some, I would reject immediately because they are weird, unattractive and unpleasant.



Another sweet thing about daydreaming is when I am in the shower room with the tap on, having my shower cap covering my beautiful and long hair, smiling and giggling as I travel into the world of exploration across the globe, with me wishing they come to pass. Most of my fantasies are all about someone taking me to the altar and we both tied the knot with the help of the man of God as we travel and visit many continents.

This has always been a recurring daydream for me because it keeps coming into my fantasy world anytime I start to daydream. I just want the best for myself and seeing myself being embraced in the arms of my rib is something I long for.



I was all alone in my room and had just finished chatting with someone on social media and when I viewed my WhatsApp status, I saw a friend who posted one of her friends who just got proposed in a grand style. The guy surprised her in an eatery when they both went to enjoy themselves and that was how the proposal happened. The lady was just smiling, in awe with a surprised emotion written all over her face. It was obvious she wasn't expecting that as it was planned.

I saw her giggling and showing her finger to everyone. That was when the daydream began for me. I saw myself in an office where I work and was doing what I know how to do best. Suddenly, the boss called me to his office for a job to be delivered the next day. In his office was his friend who sat comfortably on the chair while staring at me. I could see with one eye as I noticed he was staring at me. I only focused on my boss who was busy explaining how to get something done for him.



I collected the file from his hand and went out, closing the glass door silently and quietly. While walking away, I could hear the whispering from the friend, "who is she?"

When it was closing time, I packed everything with me and headed home. While waiting for a taxi to drop me off, this guy was coming out with my boss. On sighting me, he quickly came over and asked if he could take me home. I wasn't feeling at ease especially seeing my boss locking eyes with me. I replied no, don't worry sir.

He insisted and when my boss couldn't change his mind, he opened the door for me while I entered with a smile followed by a "thank you". On our way, we were both talking and laughing about some funny scenarios. Sincerely, he was a sweet guy and a funny one with dimples on his face. This is what I love about guys. They are always the cutest when they have those traits.

I directed him to my street where he drove down and I alighted in front of my house. We spoke for a while, exchanged contacts and that was it.



I kept daydreaming while smiling and being excited about the moment. I didn't want to end the fantasy unless I get to a beautiful ending. I continued...

After many months of knowing each other, I must admit, he spoiled me with lots of gifts and surprises. I was still working at my office and this time around, my boss already knew of our relationship and he was treating me nicely as the future wife to his friend. He said to me one day, you are lucky!

I felt happy within me and instantly, I knew he was the man for me. My happiness knew no bound with mostly all I do because at that moment, he already took me home to introduce me to his family, and I did the same too. Both families were in support of us coming together and the preparation started.



untitled.gif

It was in the office he came to propose to me. He just walked into the office that day when my boss was with all staff instructing us on what to do for the next meeting coming up. Perhaps he knew the plan and he decided to call such a meeting where everyone was present and could witness what was about to happen. I couldn't contain my joy at that moment because he proposed sweetly and romantically. I felt like crying, it was so emotional.

He praised me and appreciated how I have stood by him during the moment he was struggling and facing some hard times. He confessed that I was the only woman who never frustrated his life with constant requests for money and material things. He held my hands, with one knee on the floor and asked, "Princess Busayo, will you be my wife and mother of my kids?".

Guess what happened right after that? I felt like it should be real. I felt like it should happen the way I experienced it in the daydream. It was a wonderful journey into the future for me and I kept being positive about it.

Thanks for your time on my blog.

You can visit this post to participate.

Gif from Peakd frontend

png_20230103_101955_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency