Misfortune

20211211_093703_0000.jpg

What is belief? Does it mean faith? hope? or believe itself?. What I know for a fact is, everyone in this world is just as confused and angry as I have been for the past one year.

A year ago, I lost everything; my wife, my kids, my family... Everything. And since then I have lost the very essence of ‘believe’.

It is usually a thing for my family and I to go on a vacation on Christmas Eve and spend three days that is till boxing day, and this year was no different.
It's that time of the year and my wife had already parked the things we needed and my children; David and Christabel We're excited as ever since obviously this wasn't something we do often.

"What's taking daddy so long?" Christabel asked already in the car.
"You should know your father he behaves like a woman at times" David replied also in the car with Christabel.
"Look at you, isn't he also is your father" Christabel laughed as she replied to her older brother ‘David’.
"I didn't say he wasn't" David replied with a grin.
"So, why'd you point out "my father" like he isn't yours, it should be " our father" she pointed out.
" No, you getting it wrong" he said in a sarcastic tone.
" He is my father, you were adopted” he jested, " I'm so sorry" he followed, placing his hands on her shoulder to comfort her.
"I actually thought mom told you" he continues seeing the impact it was having on her.
" What are you two talking about?" My wife interrupted.
"Christabel honey, don't listen to your brother you know he has a unscrewed nuts in his head" she said making her way to the front sit.
"David!, stop making your junior sister feel like an outside". She warned.
"I was just joking, of course she is a part of the family, even if she was adopted" he said laughing out loud.
"Leave me alone! Punk. You are the adopted one, you were picked from the streets". And their argument went on and on.

"Where is your father?" My wife said out loud, still wondering what I was still doing inside.
"I'm right here honey, I'm all done". I shouted, while making my way out of the house with broad smile on my face. My family was complete, all together in one place and having a great time. What more could a man ask for!?
My happiness was right in front of me, looking at me straight in the eyes. Ah! who knew embarking on such journey would end up in a disaster.

"Are you all ready?" I asked just as I ignited the car.
"Yes, we are". They all replied happily.
And just as soon as we hit the road, it happened. The worse day of my life.

My entire family died during that trip, and for some reason, I was spared. I spent some weeks in a coma. And when I finally woke up, the news about my family's death was broken to me. I was...dead on the inside.

A year past and moving on from a bad omen is no easy task, especially after losing my family and it has turned me into another person. I have this hate and anger inside of me that I can't seem to shake off.

So, If I'm asked ‘believe’? I don't believe in anything most especially Christmas.
Since that very day, I have had this great disdain for Christmas and anything spiritual infact, because I feel, if any disaster or misfortune was going to happen it shouldn't be during Christmas and my family should have been protected.

k75bsZMwYNtze9xHvT6xWCdz7q3QGD35ZKdaPpVrFksWkEYXvJDaRyxe7bVGkheAKHkuygkNiZP4eEYh1F82bvX6GLEyBCmKYfYk3CKjZgWMYeqaD16ikM9qsySrTsbwKocxBYsKeWJZnB2nDDPbcRFs2K7XsejiE.png

This is a fiction based story depicting a different view of BELIEVE from a certain perspective.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency