My Disguise

img_0.12054716890508166.jpg Source

I don't know if being rich were a curse as I believe it destroyed my every opportunity at being in love. Every lady I came across had the entitlement mentality and would settle to eating off my wealth. Initially it wouldn't mean a thing being that I am a wealthy man but then I could identify extravaganza when I saw one and as usual they would all leave when the money stopped coming in.

This time, I decided to try out a new strategy at love which would involve travelling to another town, sailing through rivers to a place so far from what I called home. I only wanted to ensure that I was at a place where no one knew or recognized me. There I met a beautiful woman, Juby who worked as a waitress in a popular restaurant in town. I lived a life making everybody around me believe I was struggling so hard with life and trying to make ends meet. Juby was a great woman, kind hearted, industrious and very humble. She supported me through whatever I had made her believe. She also promised to stay by me, never leaving my side because she believed I had the potentials to make it in life. Analyzing my experiences with Juby and the other women immediately made me understand that I meant a potential wife. I went to get her after her work and she had a really long face, on enquiry I realized her mother had been down health wise. She needed an urgent surgery but the family couldn't afford the funds. I convinced her into taking her mother to the hospital while hoping for a miracle. On getting there, I secretly went out to meet the doctor, where I made full payments for surgery and the drugs she needed after which. I demanded he didn't reveal my identity but to simply let them know that a good samaritan had cleared all outstanding debts. The surgery was successful and her mother was stronger and getting better. She demanded to know the person who paid her hospital bills but was met with the same replies. I watched her pray and showering so much blessings on her benefactor. It was a moment for me as I never had the opportunity to ever have another's mother pray for me well not directly.

img_0.7538314174084606.jpg Source

Things were going pretty well between Juby and I but I needed to confess to her, I had to tell her who I really was, but how do I?
I came up with a plan..........
I told her I wanted us to travel out and she agreed. I took her to my city, showed her my properties revealing to her who I really was.
'Why did you lie to me", she said
I'm so disappointed at you, this makes no sense, rich or poor you didn't have to lie to me.
I was speechless and tongue tied at the time, I just watched her vent her anger before she finally left. I had to run after her, it was my first time but she was for keeps. I pleaded and begged but she wouldn't hear me out. She left.
I followed her back to her town, and explained everything to her mother. She advised I gave her sometime to talk to her daughter.
Well, it was positive.
I got back with my Juby and we're definitely going to make things work as she has proven beyond reasonable doubts the goodness and purity of her heart.

Thank you for visiting my post, I hope you love it. You can join the contest by visiting @theinkwell/the-ink-well-prompt-64-plus-weekly-challenge-and-prize-announcement

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency