One last Wish

The choir had just rendered a beautiful ministration, the kind of songs that make you forget that you are owing your landlord. The synergy between the lead vocalist, backup and even instrumentalist was unparalleled, the congregants were still trying to catch their breathe from the explosive dance moves they had all given and the singing at the top of their lungs, even though a passer by may have said they were singing off key.

It was now time to take the offering, as Pastor Derick mounted the altar, everyone expected their usual cheerful pastor. As he took the mic to his mouth the first statement he uttered was "Those of you in the choir that are sleeping around, you are going to hell fire straight. Know it now, you and the devil have a date"

The Church went silent, wondering why Pastor Derick would make such a statement, now of all times?

As they all watched in awe, he went further... Those of you that are sleeping with another man's wife is fire that will burn that your sontin, you just watch and see. Ehen, you...Aunty hook up with your short skirt... Hell fire.

It must have been the stern look the head pastor gave that made him quickly revert to what brought him on stage. As he called the choir to sing praises as the offering was being collected. You could see how awkward everything became. Everyone just wanted it to be over with so they could sit down and maybe leave the church already. The atmosphere was already ruined by His statements.

The grace was shared, in less than 5 minutes everyone had dispersed even those who would have waited for a little chatter after the service, was it a guilty conscience or something else? no one knew.

As they made their way home after a "brief" meeting at the Head Pastor's office through the congested Lagos highway, He was silent throughout the drive, his wife kept trying to initiate conversations, she would crack a joke she knew would have made him laugh on normal circumstances and end up laughing alone, when she saw that it seemed like he wasn't interested she stopped. You could hear a pin drop.

When they got home, before even taking off their church clothes Pastor Derick blotted "Why is that boy always smiling at you when he is singing? Ehn? Are you the only woman in church? I have observed... and you too you will be smiling and dancing abi?"

She opened her mouth almost like she had just seen a purple elephant, "Honey, which kind question come be that one again na?"

" You are asking me abi? " Replied Pastor Derick as he walked towards her with a clenched fist and furious look. "Nkechi, you know where I took you from abi? I took you up and I made you who you are today, you want to sleeping around abi?"

"Haba my honey bunny, na only you dey chop my eferiii, You know I love you and will never do anything to hurt you now, king of my heart, Odogwu himself " as she rubbed his head and gently kissed him.

In few seconds, his clenched fist grabbed her waist and his frown turned upside down to form a smile.

" Eh.. erm.. eh, you know our people say where there is smoke, fire dey somewhere dey burn, I have been hearing rumors, my head nearly burst and I say I shuu kuku come and confront you" he said still holding her waist

There's nothing like that my Love, oya let me help you with your suit joor... Shey it's rice you want or eba? I think that Egusi is still remaining ooh. Baby anyone is fine jare, I no dey too hungry sef na you I wan chop he replied with a smirk.

You don come o, she said laughing. Let go and prepare lunch Jare.

Few days passed and it felt like nothing had even happened or was it the silence before the storm?

As he walked into the bedroom, his wife was already asleep with her phone on her hand. " This woman don press phone sotay she sleep forget kaiii, social media ehn" as he picked the phone to turn off her data so he could sleep beside her.

A notification from WhatsApp "Felix D Choir reacted to your" got his attention...haan no be this boy for choir wey I dey complain about be this? As he pressed to check what he reacted to... He saw a message from his wife "Did you cum inside me?"

This sent my world, I mean his world into a spiral. I wish this was just a dream or a mistake but it wasn't sadly it signaled the end of a journey that had been running for close to 4 years

The End.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency