MISS COUNCILOR

img_0611.png
Source
Image was edited using canva

“Thank you so much ma’am, you’re the best” - Pamela said as she left my office

Now I was all alone in my office, with my thoughts of course. Again, I started thinking about my life...as usual.

I’m Cassidy Walsh. A 26 year old woman who works in a school as a Guidance councilor. To say that I’m good at my job is an understatement. For three years I’ve been working in this school and I’ve done really well. Students who graduated but came to seek my advice sometime in the past still come back to thank me. Even the students I still council now are fond of me. I helped most of them when they were confused about their passion and career choices and I always try my best to do my job;I ensure that every student reaches their fullest potential in life, I assist and advice students about both their academic and personal decisions and I do it in the most friendly way possible, even Pamela who just left my office can attest to that.

You’d think that someone who dishes out advice and has an answer or solution to everything and any problem would have no issues in her life. Well no, my life is in shambles now, I feel so disorganized, tired, drained, overwhelmed...I need help, I need advice but from who? Literally everyone looks up to me for that. I wonder how I’m able to help people with their issues but yet I can’t help myself when that’s what I know how to do best.
But who counsels a councilor right?

After much thinking, I decided to call the number of a psychologist a friend recommended. His name was Doctor Greg Atwood. For someone weird reason I felt like I would’ve preferred a woman but I decided to try anyways.

As I approached the building for my appointment, I was directed to the 5th floor by the receptionist. While I was in the elevator I could feel my fingers fidgeting.

Now I was standing in front of the door that read; Dr. Greg A.
“It’s now or never”- I whispered to myself.

I was sitted in his office now.

“Good day Miss Cassidy”- Greg said

“Good day”- I responded coldly

“Look I know you’re a bit tense. I won’t ask you any questions but I just want you to talk to me, tell me what’s wrong, how you feel. Nothing feels too stupid to be said. This is a safe space.Okay? - he said calmly as if he could read my mind.

Almost immediately I felt more at ease knowing he wasn’t about to ask questions I wasn’t sure I could answer and he just wanted to listen to me rant.

“Well I feel like I’m lost, I have no purpose, my personal life is a mess. I feel so overwhelmed.......” - I started kept talking and talking.

TWO HOURS LATER...

I’m finally done with my session and it went better than expected, I felt better and even scheduled another appointment for next week. I felt good knowing that someone is there to listen to me.

“Thank you so much Dr Greg. This was so nice, I can’t wait for the next appointment” - I said feeling more relieved.

“It was my pleasure Cassidy. I’m happy you’re feeling better”- Dr Greg said with a smile.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency