The Joy of Lucrecia - The Ink Well Fiction Prompt #127

Lucrecia was a girl of only nine years old, she lived with her mother Valeria, in a very humble house. Although the girl was very poor, she was sweet, thin, with very short hair, polite and funny.

In the mornings, her mother took her to school. Then she would go to work at the homes of some families, doing household chores. Lucrecia never gave her mother a headache, wherever she went she always kept her sanity and her behavior was outstanding.

One afternoon, on her way home from school, she took a detour from her usual path and decided to take a shortcut. When he started walking, he saw that the road was very lonely, however, he looked up at the sky and said:

"God, accompany me on this road".

She continued on her way, as she advanced she visualized a small house, it was not fenced with bars, it had several iron windows a little rusted by some rains, that caught the girl's attention. Although she was afraid of being alone, her curiosity was stronger, so she looked through each of the windows. While she was looking, she parked for a moment, she observed through one of the windows a bed filled with many dolls. Suddenly, she realized that it was getting late, so she ran in a hurry to get home before her mother arrived from her daily chores.

In the evening, while her mother was washing the dirty dishes, the little girl approached her mother and said:

"Mother, I would like someone to give me a doll someday."

Valeria with her tired face from work, hugged her daughter Lucrecia, she said:

" Love of my life, if I could give you my soul, I would give it to you, I would like to buy you so many things, but the money I get paid is only enough to buy food and the personal things we both need".

Lucretia, with a smile on her face, said to her mother:

" Don't worry, mom, I know that God will put in my way the person who will give me a doll".

From that moment on, every time Lucrecia left school, she would go out of her way until she reached the house with the windows to enjoy looking at the dolls in that room.

One morning, as usual, Valeria took Lucrecia to school. From there she went to one of the houses where she was doing housework, the owner of the house said to her:

"Mrs. Valeria, thank you for coming".

Valeria, as a good worker, approached the owner of the house to listen to what her boss was going to tell her, the lady expressed:

"Go to the depot, there you will find a big transparent bag tied with a green ribbon, take it out so that the people who collect the garbage can take it away".

Valeria, doing as the lady suggested, went to the depot and looked for the transparent bag. When she saw it, she saw the amount of toys inside, she turned to the lady and said:

"Madam excuse me, I can take out the garbage later, at the end of the day, when I go out I am very busy with house chores."

The lady listened to the woman's explanation and accepted her recommendation. So Valeria spent the whole day working, when it was time to leave, she told the lady:

"It's time for me to go home, I'm going to take the bag to the containers".

The lady, very pleased with the good work, paid him for his day's work and said:

"Thank you, Valeria, I'll wait for you next week."

Valeria left the house, closed the door very well, when she saw through the living room window, she realized that the lady was going to her room, she thought: "It's a good opportunity to take this bag of toys for Lucrecia, I can only imagine how happy she will be".

When he got home he noticed that the girl was in her room, he put the bag under the table and called her:

"Daughter, I have arrived"

Lucrecia went out to meet her mother and said to her:

"Mother blessing, how was your work?"

Her mother replied cheerfully:

"Very well, and how was school for you?"

The girl, very smiling, expressed to her:

"Mommy very well, they sent me homework, I am doing it, in a while you will correct it".

Her mother, very anxious to give her the news, tells her:

"Okay daughter, but first I want you to check under the table".

The little girl was very curious about what her mother said, but obediently did as her mother told her, ducked her little head, looked under the table, reached in, pulled out the bag and unzipped the bag and said to her mother:
" Mom, what is this?".

Her mother seeing the astonishment of the little girl says to her:

" Daughter, it is a blessing from God, they are not from the store, they are used, I hope you like them, I saw them and thought of you".

The little girl was very happy to see so many toys, she jumped on top of her mother and said:

"Mommy thank you, I love you mommy, so many toys and three dolls to play with one is named Dulce, one is named Cielo and the other Luna, from now on they will be my best friends, God thank you, what a joy it gives me."

That night, Lucrecia played a lot in her room until she fell asleep. When her mother went to the girl's room, she noticed that the girl was sound asleep hugging her dolls, Valeria smiled when she saw the mess the girl had left in her room. Lucrecia never more returned to the house of windows.

This is a fictional story
Use Google Docs
Use Deepl translator
The drawing was made by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency