My passion sewing - Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #8

When I was a child I lived with my parents in my maternal grandmother's house, who was dedicated to sewing for the people in the street, she had her machine in the living room of the house. From that place the street people saw her sewing every day, I was the only granddaughter in her house as I was very small I sat on the floor right next to her to play with the scraps of fabric and threads that fell like raindrops on the floor while she sewed and cut.

My paternal grandmother lived alone, sometimes she would travel to my maternal grandmother's house just to look for me and keep her company, she also sewed but for my grandfather and my uncles and aunts.

I grew up and learned the art of sewing. When it was my turn to go to school, my attention was drawn to make a miniature bag made with a piece of cloth, from the same material I would attach a very large handle.

One cool morning my mother took me to school, I went with my notebooks in my hand, in the miniature bag I carried some coins that she had given me to buy candy, my pencil and my eraser.

When I arrived at the classroom my classmates saw me with the little bag, that day I was the attraction of the morning. My little friends wanted me to make something for them and in return they gave me candy, so every day after school, I went home with my mother, took off my uniform and started sewing.

My mother and my maternal grandmother smiled to see me so small sewing. One day my mother went to talk to my teacher to find out about my behavior at school, my teacher told her that she could not explain why I was so deficient, my mother understood that the work I was doing for my friends was distracting me from my school work, so she forbade me to continue sewing.

Over the years I grew up and became a teenager and with that sewing became my hobby without a machine to make good finishes, but I didn't care. We had our own house, my dad got sick and was unemployed, only my mom worked, so when I wanted to have a different outfit I made it up.

When I saw a fashion, I would take a dress, make a transformation and I would spend all night sewing it by hand until it was finished, and the next day I would make my debut as a model.

After twenty years I got married. On my birthday my dear husband gave me my first sewing machine, so sewing is a hobby and my passion, I enjoy making clothes for my family and some lingerie for the home.

I hope you liked my publication
I used Deepl translator
The drawing was made by me @lrscarmen
See you soon

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency